Flag Plagiarism! and stop being fake nice...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

There is a big trend on steemit, people posting youtube videos created by other people and getting upvoted. Steemit should reward original content and punish plagiarism. What actually happens, because everyone wants to be nice and get voted or followed back, they just leave a fake comment like " interesting video man, keep it up, follow me back." . I love the idea of steemit and I hope we get to a point where people can leave honest comments and upvote based on merit not profit. Let's have real conversations even if we don't get followed back, you don't see people being so nice on twitter or facebook, monetization made everyone polite all of a sudden..

Flag Plagiarism!

e72d5baaab7eb0ab833028a9051e7438.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for posting this reminder @sebastianic.

Steemit is the place for original work....let us hope it remains so.

Steemians can always report such posts to @cheetah in Steem.chat.

Cheers.

I was about to comment " Nice post man" but reading i realise there's alot of realness and deepness in what you've posted. Some people really work hard and take alot of time to create real original contents while others have it easy by copy pasting...that is just so not fair.

Very true. People think they can post a link to a good video they didn’t even make and make money off it. A plague to the steemit community as well as the bots that comment on every single post.

And they get positive feedback for stealing, that's what pisses me off. People commenting things like, well done, keep it up..

What you’re saying is completely true. I’ve been working my ass off to be able to write my own articles, while loads of people earn 10x more by simply posting a video.
I’m not saying I’m against posting YouTube or other videos - they can be very informative, but I think people should at least have the decency to write an original piece of text as an intro or a comment.

Yes, at least do a commentary on the subject and give credit to the youtuber or something. But most of them say, check my new video about ....

True. And the number of those kinds of posts seems to be growing every day. Sometimes I get really irritated when I see posts that bring absolutely no value, and still manage to earn 3x more than I do. I’m not saying that I’m a good author, because I know i’m Not, but at least I’m trying...

It'd be pretty ironic if this post were copied and pasted from somewhere else...

Some people on Reddit described the community here as "cult-like," which I think is pretty damn accurate. It is because Steemit is still starting out there are not a lot of people posting original, interesting content. Maybe once bigger content-creators (with unique content) arise they will drown out the spam, clickbait, and free-money schemes.

I'm new to steemit, but I was under the impression everything was supposed to be original content? I guess not....

If you post a Michael Jackson song and say, check my new song out. That is not Original content. You can make commentary and give credit to the artist though...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63