Six steps for harnessing Steemit virtuous cycles to grow your projects.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

My vocation in aquaculture is one of many that will can benefit from harnessing Steemit virtuous cycles to grow projects.

Six steps to Steempower from Steemit posts can drive virtuous cycles


I need to use ‘heuristic models’ to sort out my thinking about systems. The model sketched above is my current spin on how Steemit and Steem can play key roles in moving projects forward. I call this process ‘virtuous cycles of Steemit’ because actions form a feedback loop that grows content as it builds Steempower and facilitates project growth.

Step 1: Mobilize your inventories of content


In my case … and in the case of hundreds of my colleagues in science and technology … I have a large inventory of Knowledge, Information, Tools and Solutions (I call that ‘KITS). Surely, it is better to have that content in a living, accessible form on Steemit, earning Steempower, than to have it wasting away on bookshelves and hard drives!
My content inventory comes from more than 50 years at every level of seaweed aquaculture value chains. I also generate new KITS almost every day as new projects evolve. I like to think that a lot of this stuff can be useful to other people. Why repeat my mistakes when you can learn from your own and also pass forward?

Step 2: Link your contacts into Steemit

In today’s planet of social media bubbles, we can build networks far beyond the legacy notion of personal contacts. As a skeptic of social media, I have avoided creating a Facebook persona but almost against my will I have accumulated hundreds of professional and personal contacts through Linkedin. It is now one of my missions to persuade these folks to join me in building Steemit communities around fields pertaining to our vocations.

Step 3: Build Steempower

Such credits as I may acquire on Steemit will be stashed in Steempower as I try to move above the newbie – minnow level … even as I participate in communities that are presently thinly populated in Steemworld. I am hoping that my experience on Steemit serves as a case that can persuade others in my networks to join me in growing ‘critical mass’ among our communities.

Step 4: Build crypto-wealth

I am an old dog learning new tricks as I hang out with my drinking buddies in Bali beach bars. Tired of just talking (and not doing), some of us have joined to form a ‘Bali-Boys Krypto Club’. We pool funds to get some skin in the game and that focuses our discussions as we strive to figure out what crypto platforms will be the winners and which ICO will make us beach-bum millionaires.

Step 5: Use distributed- ledger technologies in your projects


For aquaculture ventures, certainly, I can see where a multitude of distributed-ledger technologies can advance the state of the art and make for more efficient value chains. Use of Steemit as a hub for content sharing is an early step. We are learning how to use drones for crop logging and input applications; we are using sharing and storage apps on ‘the cloud’; we are figuring out how to use blockchain smart contracts and supply-chain tracking; we are easing our way into cryptocurrency transactions … the list is growing fast.

Step 6: Lessons learned generate more quality content

It is fine and dandy to be refurbishing and recycling our content inventories, but it is equally important to evolve that content using lessons newly learned. Social and technological development is moving at such a mind-boggling pace that we are dependent on the folks that can distill things to the essence and pass KITS on to others. This is exactly how I first heard of Steemit when some of my favorite crypto gurus including David Hay overcame initial doubts and started to post on Steemit. By posting quality content based on lessons learned we close the Steemit virtuous cycle and propel it its next iteration.

So full Steem ahead …

Cheers, Iain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50