You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 Days to $0: Those Worthless Old Steemit Posts

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I feel your disappointment. It stopped me in my tracks with a couple of my projects. Now I'm building websites around my content. I'll eventually crosspost on Steemit once I've had a chance to build up those accounts, but only as a supplemental step or a funnel with links back to my websites.

Another side effect of this 7 Days to $0 is that it effectively kills curation. I think of curation as people sifting through all the trash to pull out the gems. On Steemit, that only pays if someone does it with recent content. And yet, at this point, it's undeniable that 99.9% of the best content on the Steem blockchain is older than 7 days. And it's also true that 99.9% of recent posts are trash. So there's not much to curate.

Unfortunately, I don't hear a big clamor around here to change it, so it's probably not anywhere on the Steemit roadmap.

That said, I believe the value of Steemit is the community. It's an excellent place to engage in thoughtful conversations with people. Just don't expect to get rich. And don't spend a ton of time producing high-quality content just for Steemit. It's better to generally build your reputation with thoughtful comments (like the one you left here) with other people. It will build your reputation score, your following, and it just might make you a little money here and there.

And remember, whatever you post here is on the blockchain FOREVER. You can't delete it.

Oh, and welcome to Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48