Should You Upvote Memes on Steemit?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

alt text

Do you really want Steemit to devolve into just another dumping ground for the endless re-posting of memes?

Or should we keep it free of clutter, and encourage the sharing and thoughtful discussion of ideas instead?

I can't speak for all of you. The community will have to decide how to answer these questions. Just remember that you make Steem what it is. The content which you choose to upvote becomes the bricks upon which Steem is built. Does it offer value?

Sort:  

I concur, but I find that just because bad or cheap content is such, does not mean it will not become overly successful. And that just because content is good, heartfelt, well put together, or what have you, does not mean it will receive any attention at all.

Cheap laughs do spread like wildfire on social media, don't they?

I still cant get my head around how some posts are getting upvotes and making money for such trashy and poor content. I'm fairly new to this and still learning and as yet haven't made a dime

Your opinion of what steemit should be is just that your opinion. if people choose to make or upvote memes that is not a proble for anyone but people that don't like memes. maby go after single picts with no text that make 60bucks. or maybe hit up the feminists that get 12 upvotes with a pay out of 200 bucks because some whale wants to push some lies that others have debunked with facts and links in the comments.
I personally will upvote a meme I like over some stupid bullshit post tht "You" say has value. it is all subjective and what you think is best for steemit does not matter.
I support any post that is original no matter if you like it or not.
by trying to get people to conform to what "you" think steemit should become is pushing people away.
Notice how slow the posting has gotten the last 2 weeks?
-smh-

I can't speak for all of you. The community will have to decide how to answer these questions. Just remember that you make Steem what it is. The content which you choose to upvote becomes the bricks upon which Steem is built. Does it offer value?

Did you read to the end before you fired off your half-cocked rant? Nowhere in that entire post did I once tell anyone else what to do, now did I? I asked a question to start a dialogue.

I support any post that is original...

I would contend that there is nothing original about the one-liners that are plastered across an image and re-posted ad nauseum. That was really the crux of the point which I was trying to make, in fact.

My post has certainly succeeded in starting a conversation, hasn't it? Is there not value in that? Otherwise we are all just shouting into an echo chamber without ever really listening to each other or considering any other point of view. The beauty of constructive discussion is that you may collectively reach new understanding regarding a subject. This is how you grow as a human being.

Loading...

Steemit is really great compared to other social media. The content is usually well thought out. I agree, don't upvote memes!

I was thinking the same thing, why would you vote for something that lacks substance. I thought steemit is for quality content, not funny little memes that you can get on 9gag. Maybe the upvote button is not designed well. We are used to like, upvote, things that are funny, but we don't put much value in it, not like in a good thought provoking article.

I would say that the vote function is aptly named. You are casting a vote for that content to be promoted to the community. I think it is probably confused by many with the more simplistic "like" function of facebook.

Nothing wrong with trying to have a little fun or posting something that makes you and others laugh. I vote based on the contributor. If the meme is from someone who is a good community member I'll upvote it. Especially if it makes me laugh.

If I ever get to the point where my vote is worth more than a dollar, I'd probably make sure that I didn't add more than $1 to a meme post.

What I won't upvote is one liner, link only posts, and memes when that is all the effort a contributor puts into every post especially when it's obvious they have no interest in contributing to the community.

Fair enough. :)

It's true that everyone's upvotes shape Steemit, but you as a reader can follow writers who create valuable content and unfollow meme dumpers - so you can become somewhat independent from the preferences of the majority.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67