Want To be a Better Steemian? Look No Further!

in #steemit7 years ago

The Community

Steemit is already an amazing community, but I feel that with more people coming in every day, it should only get better--key word there being should. My time on this site has only been a matter of a few weeks, and yet with a little bit of effort I am already close to 100 followers! If I am honest, most of the time I have no idea where these followers are coming from, but I'm getting them all the same. I would like to tell you what I've learned about Steemit from my short time here, as well as how to be a better Steemian.
community_concept_medium.jpg

Engaging Pictures

Some people could take this as "Hey, I'm going to stick this picture of a hot girl in my post," and while that may work for some people, that's not what I want to encourage here. What I do want to encourage is using pictures that capture what your post is about--interesting pictures that spark a "Wait! What?" response. This could be a crazy meme, a nice picture of you or your family, or maybe even a picture you create yourself. Without pictures, all you have to grab people's attention is your title and the first few words of your article, which no matter how good is not always enough.

Thought...

PUT THOUGHT INTO YOUR POSTS! Don't just post for the sake of posting. Even though being consistent can be important, it's not what you need to focus on. Quality over quantity will help you. If people see quality that is not spamming their feed page, they will be more inclined to follow you and resteem your posts. Also, with thought comes creativity, a great example being a survival game I am currently in hosted by @papa-pepper. When I saw this my eyes widened--now that's creative! The survival game takes a good amount of work to maintain and gets the community involved. Kudos to you, good sir!

Read, Comment, and Resteem

Going through and reading people's posts is what being part of the community is all about. People, including yourself, are posting every day in the hopes that someone will stop to check out what they have written. If you are not doing this already, start doing it! I mean, why should the community take notice of your posts if you are not paying attention to theirs? It is just common courtesy. Not only can you show your support by reading others' posts, but if you like something you can also up-vote and even COMMENT on it. Comments make people's day! I know they make mine. I love reading comments on my posts and I love replying to them. Knowing that people are taking time out of their day to read my work is exhilarating, to say the least. Also with up-voting, keep an eye on your voting power with HF19. Your votes are worth more, but your power depletes faster. I've heard about ten votes a day is a good rule of thumb so that your up-votes can help others out more.

When you really like someone's post, resteem it. One of the greatest compliments you can give someone is by sharing their work for others to discover. Just don't get so carried away with resteeming posts that you lose your own work on your feed in a sea of other people's work.

Headings and Paragraphs

People like easy, so the easier and faster they can read your post the better. Separating topics or ideas can help a lot, as well as give your writing a bit of texture, therefore making it more fun to chew on. One large block of text with you droning on and on may run the risk of putting your reader into a coma, or having them run away all together. Also, this should be a given, but plagiarizing is bad. Use your own work and let people know when you are using the work of someone else to add to your already thought-out work. Give people the credit they deserve.

Also, just keep on learning every day about the platform and keep up on the information about the site. The more informed you are the more you will get out of the site.

Thanks for reading!
-ScorchDojo
Red-Dragon-fantasy-32662807-800-500.jpg
Original Picture from Fanpop.com

Edited By @modernjomarch

Sort:  

Putting thought into your posts and not just posting for the sake of posting are two things that I do on a daily basis. I think if we all focus on putting out valuable content, not only will we make money, but we will be helping each other out.

I have seen the "hot girls" posts you are talking about and the only saving grace is that they rarely make any money. At least on my feed they don't.

Thanks for reading!

Nice post and I agree with what you say. Engage first then people will engage what you have to share.

I like to add dont fall in the follow4follow trap.

I am also happy I can make your day a bit better by commenting.

Thank you so much, yeah only follow who you will like to see more content from great comment!

Very Good Nice post and I agree with it!

SteemOn, resteemed Cheers

Trying to get in THL group. Just wanted to let you know I am now following you now from THL. from Virginia!!!! :)

Nice to meet you thanks for the follow I followed you back. A marine huh? I was in the army myself thanks for your service!

Yes! Nice to meet you also. Thank you for your service too! Don't forget to get in the drawing I am having for 10 "Foxfire Bushcraft/Homestead" Books on my blog. Just started the giveaway for 10 books. On first book right now. Nine more to go. Drawing every Sunday for 10 weeks! :)

Congratulations @scorchdojo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @scorchdojo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60180.20
ETH 2604.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54