Trending Page: Madness or Worthwhile?

in #steemit6 years ago


1.jpeg

Lately I have been avoiding the trending page......... Well, truth be told, I never really visit the trending page much at all.... I never had. When I first started on Steemit, the trending page was mainly whales and bigger users voting for each other. I do admit, the content was fairly high in most instances in my opinion.

But now when I visit the trending page all I see is posts promoted by a zillion bots. Posts that are pushed well beyond their worth by using the myriad of bots that are available. Now I know you have to spend to get your posts up onto trending, but I think that somewhere the platform has lost its way. Perhaps the trending page needs to be altered to remove the impact that promo-bots have on posts. I see a lot of content on trending that is not really worthy to be there, but the structure of the platform currently, particularly SP delegation, allows this to be the case.

I am not really sure what purpose the trending page actually serves anymore other than to get a post recognised by the people that regularly visit the page. I infrequently go there to see what content is hitting the page. The developer posts and innovations are great and deserve to be there, however, the other more dubious content could be questioned as to why it makes that page.

download (3).jpeg

What is the future for the trending page? Does it still serve a purpose? Would Steemit be better off not having this set of pages on the platform?

There are many things that are great and not so great about Steemit, are there any others you think could be better done without or any additions that you think would be beneficial?

Thanks for reading!


Make Sure To Vote For These
Awesome Steem Witnesses!

DQmcRhugXJtKG9NtzBxvgVYr7YB5rg2Rvziokw7i8uU88fb.png


Come and join us in the Team Australia Discord Channel

Thanks to @ryivhnn and @bearone for the fantastic footers :)

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81