We Should be Able to Have "Favorite Tags"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

A quick idea just came to me.

Next to "home", "new", "hot", etc. we should be able to place five or so favorite tags that are instantly clickable.

For instance, I enjoy reading the "gaming" tag, so would like to have "gaming" clickable in the upperhand bar next to "active". Currently, I have to write "steemit.com/created/gaming" in my searchbar.

In addition to eliminating the slight inconvenience, it would work to change my personal using habits in order to better remember following certain tags that are not so popular and not often trending.

There are some of the more obscure tags that I simply forget to follow, even though I would like to.

The easier it is for people to find stuff that they like, and improve the noise-to-signal ratio, the more they enjoy Steemit, and the better it is for all of us.

Sort:  

So much this. It's basically the top bar of followed subreddits on Reddit.

First, practical questions:

  • Where should this information be stored? Block chain, steemit.com or PC?
  • One at a time, or all at once?
  • Do you want groups of tags?
    • Should these groups be mutually exclusive?
    • Should these groups be user named groups of tags?
    • Should they be stored as tree structures?
  • How many tags do we need to store for each user?

I'll openly admit to not being an expert on how to implement things like these. If it's possible to be stored on steemit.com, I'm not sure I see a reason for them to be stored on the blockchain.

What I mean by this is to simply have clickable shortcuts that the user can choose. From, say, three to five. So, I'd have "gaming" clickable on the upperhand bar next to "active", and it would be a shortcut to "steemit.com/created/gaming".

I am, or used to be, an expert on implementing things.
The only thing I don't know is how much stuff is stored on steemit.com, and how much its database is being taxed right now. I tried to find out in chat, but the conversation never even starts.

What I really do not know is people's expectations. I have been living under a rock for a few years. So, I really need to have the above questions answered.

And, I believe I wrote somewhere on this chain, about a much more structured and useful tagging system. It again, was just dropped.

Simply being able to Follow Tags would work, too.

If I had access to the code on steemit.com, I could just save 5 or so tags in a cookie, and then place them on the feed page above the search_tags box. That would be easy.

Except, when you delete your cookies or go to another computer...

So, who is in charge of the code on steemit.com?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63241.83
ETH 3086.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82