I Ran a Test on Facebook to see How Much Visibility a Steemit Link Gets and the Result Was Interesting

in #steemit8 years ago

steemitfb

@hilarski wrote on his blog about Facebook shadow banning Steemit posts, so I ran a test.

I asked everybody who sees the post to like it, or react to it in some way.

The end result was that it got 10 likes, which is pretty low on average for me, especially since I specifically asked for likes, but the most interesting part is the fact that the people who liked it largely consisted of people who usually don't like my posts - and the people who generally do, didn't notice it. I even asked a couple of close FB friends about it, and they had missed it. Of course, not everyone will like a post even when specifically asked to, but you'd think that close friends who regularly like my stuff anyway would have reacted.

I find this rather interesting. Maybe the algorithm blocks the posts from the people who we usually engage with the most?

Have you had similar experiences?

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43