You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Illusion Of "Followers"

in #steemit7 years ago

100% agreed...
It's still a nice little dopamine hit to see when you've gained a few bots who don't vote 😉
Surprisingly painful when you lose a follower (I've lost 2, I doubt you've had the experience)
🙂

Sort:  

I lose one every once in a while... I don't pay that much attention any more.

After your post, framing it the way you did, I still look, but the relevance is attenuated.
If you try to please everyone, you end up pleasing no one.
I regard Steemit as a chronicle of my story for my nieces and nephews to peruse when I've moved on...
If I've had a positive influence in their lives; and they want more... Here it is.
The blockchain is forever.

I know the feeling. I never dared to tell anyone the truth about my life (especially my kids) When I grew up being a "bastard" was something to look down at. I also didn't want people to know about childhood sexual abuse. But now I'm old and I wanted someone to know the truth so I wrote it all out as a story and published it here.

Good for you!
I've learned that becoming an adult is letting go of the (self-perceived) shame of your past.
We're all broken in some unique, beautiful way that makes us who we are...
My brother, of the Vidalia onions,

Forgiveness is giving up the hope that one day you're going to have a better past.

Your past starts today, beginning tomorrow.

Well said, My Brother, well said!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65