You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where to keep your STEEM

in #steemit7 years ago

Two questions I think need to be clarified, correct me if I'm wrong here, but I think this applies to the savings account as well:

  • Liquid Steem in savings account are not used for voting power.
  • Liquid Steem Dollars in savings account are not subject to the current interest.
Sort:  

To clarify your first point its Steem Power that increases your voting power not liquid Steem

On your second point relating to Steem dollars, I cant find anywhere confirmation of this but I expect you still get the interest, without getting too technical your asset is held in Steem dollars and its Steem dollars that collect the interest.

Ah, of course I would mix them up, I knew that it's Steem Power and not Liquid Steem but at the time I read your post it was long gone :D

I couldn't find either on the interest part, I guess It's just trial and error to see what happens :)

Hopefully someone closer to the code will be able to confirm the interest on SBD in the savings account. Its worth noting thought the interest rate isn't fixed so I wouldn't bank on it.

SBD is in my opinion one of the cleverest aspects of Steemit. Its a counterparty-free peg to the US dollar. Nothing like this exists anywhere else that I know about. It's a complicated instrument but the important thing for most to know is the value is around the value of a US dollar. It can fluctuate but its designed to be fairly stable.

I can't agree more. The SBD is genius as it's pegged to the USD. It makes anyone able to hold cryptocurrency without the shifting of prices since it will be relatively stable against the USD (some rules apply here, anyone should read more before considering it). At the same time you get a Yearly APR on top of it as a bonus for holding the asset.

As you point out thought, the APR isn't fixed but determined by the witnesses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47