First month on Steemit - thoughts, reflections, observations

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello Steemians! It's been a month since I said hello, so I thought it'll be a nice opportunity to write down my thoughts and share with you a beginner's perspective after one month of using Steemit.


1.png


First of all - few statistics

  • I've posted 27 posts and 160 comments.
  • Out of 27 posts, 8 were proper, longer articles.
  • Each one of 8 articles was posted in both Polish and English version.
  • Current reputation: 54
  • Rewards overall: 103 SDB and ~100 Steem Power.
  • Followers: 178

How did I spend my time here?

During past month I focused on two series of articles: Wandering Memories series, dedicated to reminiscences of my past travels (#1, #2, #3) and Insight, series about academic psychology knowledge written in an accessible way (#1, #2, #3). Rest of my posts were very short entries or photos I've made. Besides writing I was learning what Steem and Steemit is about, reading and upvote'ing of course! I've spend much time on Steemit.chat with #polish community and I tried to be active among them. 178 people are following me after one month! That's incredible! At this point I would like to thank all my followers, commentator and readers! I'll try my best to improve my articles in the future! Big thanks to my polish fellows for helping me to settle down in here. Dziękuję wam ślicznie!!!

Thoughts, reflections, observations

As a libertarian, I'm in love with an idea of everything-being-decentralized, so when I heard that there's a social media based on blockchain without admins - I was thrilled and decided to give it a try right away. It could be a very nice platform to describe my 2018/2019 hitch-hiking world trip. So I eagerly joined the community and started to get to know polish users here. Polish community turned out to be pretty cozy!!! Small, but very friendly and active, and growing each day!

But soon I realized how much chaotic Steem is. It's very difficult to filter content in order to find what's really interesting and valuable. High-quality articles of new users are hard to spot in the sea of spam and low-quality posts. That's the disadvantage of no moderation. Moreover, posts dedicated to #steepshot or #dmania completely do not fit to "article-like" type of posts that are promoted here and that just makes the chaos bigger and bigger. Tons of copy-pastes, plagiats, sharing other's people work from outside of Steemit - that kind of stuff discourage me deeply from using Steemit to search interesting content. I'v found many good posts, but it wasn't that easy and sites like reddit.com or polish wykop.pl are still more efficient in this area.

I was happy to notice that steem community sees the problem and is currently trying to solve it - people like @littlejoeward (here), @sirrius (here), @noisy (here) and probably many more are lobbying and proposing how to resolve this problem. I think the situation now is pretty annoying and needs to be fixed. I believe that free market will somehow manage to do that :)

2.png
My most successful post so far!

It would be nice to have some kind of possibility to segregate posts of the same series (as mine two series) on authors page, so all the posts of that series would be visable. Now all users have to scroll down at the author's page or the author needs to make a list of posts on every post he writes. It would be nice to hide all instagram-like, meme-like or foreign-languages posts. It would give us some clarity. I hope there will be a front-end that can be more user-friendly in case of searching what you want to read and that will be a real competition to Reddit.

In spite of these imperfections Steem is an amazing, growing and developing community and I am starting to believe it can really evolve into something "big". I will stay here for a longer period of time, continue posting and see what happens. Seeing how the community is motivated to make things right fills me with hope!

Questions

Few things still bother me, maybe you - Steem community - can help me decide or find out:

  • Should I have two separate accounts - one for Polish content, the other for English content? Does it stop you from following authors when they have content in different languages? Is having two accounts worth splitting Steem Power?
  • How to fight spam/poor quality content effectively at the moment?
  • How to efficiently filter and find posts that are worth reading?
  • Any advice on how to improve Steem experience and how to progress with developing my account here?

Thank you for your time and steem on!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @saunter I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to the community!

welcome here wish you have a good time

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Saunter from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

!originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @saunter to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65