I'll stop with the "Anarchist debunking posts"

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Source 

After some reflection, I'm under the impression that it creates unnecessary antagonism, and resentment from the community.


And after all I did create the username @positive, for a reason. (which I've now sold)


I don't believe negativity should be endorsed, so will refrain from such posts, until I can come up with a less antagonistic approach.


Sort:  

One does not debate against Anarchy without making a case for their own slavery. Glad you have stopped -Dave

You sold that account right ?

That's probably a good idea. Partially why I didn't respond to your debate continuation with me is because there was SO MUCH of it. When you and I had our debate in the past it wasn't a flooded topic.

Fair point

I've been thinking about writing a post opposing anarchism for days and days. I reply to pro anarchism posts that are three hours old and have zero upvotes. I don't think debate should feel like a negative experience, putting your idea's through the fire should strengthen them or change them depending on the arguments you get into. Debate should feel good. Speaking only with people you agree with is just living in a circle jerking echo chamber.

That is why I debate with @satire, and why I did so when he was named @positive. You learn more from civil debates with people that have different points of view.

I think you should be able to have such debates. I don't see a problem with Satire doing so, or you for that matter, but how you do it can leave a perception of antagonism, or it can lead a perception of wanting to have a civil debate. There is a difference and I think that is what @satire is recognizing as well. There is good DRAMA with antagonism, but that comes at a price.

Good idea. By the way, can we be adults and use only arguments without emotional charge ?

Or just to be kids and play nice because Steemit is not our game.

Take this for what it's worth, but I was kind of looking forward to your rebuttal to my reply on your debunking Larken Rose part 3.

I've been wondering where your posts were. I don't think you should stop. I even just had an exchange with an anarchist who lamented that it seems to be becoming a circle jerk around here:

Seriously though, I appreciate this exchange we had. You're the first person who has actually voiced their disagreement with me in the month plus I have been on here. I was getting a little afraid it was becoming an anarchist circle jerk. - @derekareith

We need opposing viewpoints and voices, it's the only thing that keeps communities sane in my opinion. Look at any region with a strong religious belief, for instance, and they are completely intolerant of anything else because they create an echo chamber. Meanwhile, places where many religions and/or atheists live together tend towards peaceful coexistence and people don't get into the extreme views as much. (e.g. hurricane's are God's punishment for homosexuality comes out of deeply religious communities isolated, not churches in NYC.

(Of course, I should also stop being lazy and post my own stuff... )

Thanks for that message I will continue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60626.97
ETH 3358.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45