My first month's SteemIt notes, go ahead and pick through themsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Literately my raw notes learning to SteemIt!

My personal impressions and learning curve. No, nobody asked to see my notes. The idea just popped into my head to post them. I imagine they are 100% on-topic here on SteemIt. Mostly I wonder how much "good stuff" have I missed entirely? What should I know by now? Did I miss the obvious completely? Quite possible, I can be olivious at times.

I'll tag this with "funny" too, because to some, I'll bet my notes are hilarious :)

You'll find much in my notes that is incorrect! But hopefully thats where the fun and possible insight lies

ok, in no particular order, here they are...

116920_clipboard_512x512.png

My initial notes on steemit:

see acct. status here: https://steemd.com/@sass

You get "steem power" each day based on your level. You can up vote someone but it costs you power. By UPVOTING that content you effectively join a lottery. IF that content becomes popular in the future you (the voter) get paid more, more the earlier you "esteem" it. If the content goes nowhere you get nothing. The higher your level the more "money" is added to the content when you upvote it. Each time someone upvotes content they are INVESTING in the future popularity of this content. You only get so much steam power per day so most use it wisely.

best if not thought of as a "money" game at all.

DO NOT beg for money. People on Steemit don't like it. You will get a bad rep

Editing your content
Since your data is saved on the blockchain, it's permanent. In fact, every single mutation is permanent. If you edit your content, all previous changes remain in the database forever. Once published, the information can never be removed. SteemIt is completely uncensored!

Posts live and get $ up /down for 7 days, after that nothing and no edits

tag properly not abuse, first tag is permanent

use introducemyself tag once on first post +pic face w/ note

dont expect help, dont ask, slow and easy

difference on Steemit is this cannot be hidden. All the transactions are transparent on a blockchain. A "resteem" is getting someone else to post a link to one of your pages

SteemIt Etiquette Guide Revision 2.0

In a vote hits a post with 15 min the author gets all. after 15 mins curators get some (votes 1-5) and if first vote happens after 30 mins I think they get half.

Its hard for curators because posters can vote on their own stuff. I think people bitched when that was changed.

actually you can go into the negatives, -11, -12... There is no limit to how high or how low you can go

The buying of bot services seems to be an accepted part of the economy. details sketchy.

the lower your voting power the less "weight" that vote has! 100% power vote hits twice as hard a a 50% vote. power regen 20% per day

blockchain and cryptocurrency TED

supposedly take "tag abuse" seriously

Your vote on SteemIt is a sort of investment. You get a set amount of vote power per day. The ENTIRE platform only gets a set amount of voting power per day. People will vote for content they feel should be more popular than it is. In voting up this content they are invested in its future (7 days) If they "curated" the content properly (not going into that here) they will get a share of the final amount that contents earns... Curators percentage. If the content goes nowhere, they get nothing.

commenting cost nothing. Unlike votes.

If you like making comments on subjects you like then that will work fine.

If you like making blog posts then do that.

upvote your own or not? probably no

bots, worth it or not

accept all steem power as your reward for that post, no steem dollars. When you make your post you decide (drop down box) if you want 50/50 payout (default) or ALL steem power.

You can also "curate" but I notice you have to have a lot of SP to make that work

You gain 20% power per day. If you're under 50% might want to give it a rest, bring it up. 70%+

When the SP is on the left thats power you OWN! When its on the right thats power that someone has "delegated" to you

Every post on steemit is another chance for someone to flag or reward the owner of that acct.

dont be a taker, engage with other people. try being vulnerable, who knows what will happen?

[end]


Thats it. The rest I trusted to memory I suppose. But there you have my notes from my 30 day self-introduction to SteemIt. I didn't want to attempt to write a "guide" or talk about what I learned or know. That seemed slightly arrogant for me personally. So instead I just posted my notes and hope to get some insight and a positive response back

Thanks for reading
Sass

Sort:  

thanks for the recap @sass makes me think i should start taking notes...as it all gets a clutter up there in the noggin. didn't realize about the left and right rep number and its delegation significance.
also still curious about this 50/50 split with sbd. to me there are several solid uses for sbd. membership fees, entering contests or pokers tourneys, (havent done it yet...but upvote bids) i am skeptical of this...but i make a post everyday...but im busy so many are just quickies. but a few a week i put energy and effort into and it was explained to me that this was a good use for a upvote bid... that it gets you more visibility for the future on the post you want people to see. In general its not my thing..but may give it a go.... guess those are all the reasons i question not having some SBD coming in. that and that at any point you can just transfer it over to SP still. cheers.

You covered a lot in your post. It takes a while to learn stuff especially how to earn, what the voting is all about, curating etc.

commenting cost nothing. Unlike votes.
well said and correct.
HOWEVER...commenting can MAKE you money,depending, like everything else, on your SP
SP is rilly, rilly important. The more you have the better.

How so? Do you mean voting up my own comments? Or other people voting up my comments makes me more BECAUSE I MYSELF have a boatload of SP? Clear that up for me please

lemme see...this is the way I think it is.
your vote power is related to you SP..
so is your 'throw weight' on when you vote on comments.
.............

hmmm.
I think I may have mispoken earlier.
the amount of money you make on comments is when someone ELSE votes on them..and that depends on their SP.

Yep, that clears it back up to what I was originally thinking.
I was thinking about receiving a delegation and upvoting my friends comments, then receiving a kickback from them to cover costs and a reasonable profit. In that way avoiding the "voting for thyself", possible pitfall. Thoughts?

too complicated for me.

I'll admit, I'm a gamer. I see a system and envision how best to game it! :)

Personally I really like commenting on SteemIt. That might be my focus.

fun ain't it?
I'm making about two dollars a day doing it.

When a comment flops I move on. When a post flops its like Fuuuuuuuuuk! lol
That sums it up for me at least ;)

comments take seconds.
posts take minutes to hours to compose.

And I don't really HAVE much to say. My wit is short, sharp, shock.

Something that draw my interest for some reason or another but I haven't got back to it yet. So I don't know about it myself

I understand it's the Steemit equivalent to twitter.
short comments.

I have more faith in Steemit today than when I started. Thats a good thing for my continuation. Been busy getting ready for my drive down south tho

Wooooo! Its cold in Chicago

i think you earn faster by posting blogs than commenting. but not everyone has time to make content worth blogging about. so at least everyone can in some way earn something here. even though you wont pay the bills with your earnings either way...

Time is my issue right now
I think once I understand SteemIt better I'll actually be blogging about something I DO know and can answer questions on. I also want find out about the investment portion, maybe.

well good luck to ya...

yup..is true.

:)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by campervanelvis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sass to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

so you ban me for making a point that johnny blood started a fight and you delete anyones comments that differ from johnny bloods. johnny blood falsely accuses me of making death threats i did not make. all i did was point out the fact that johnny blood ignored so many other people who made very similar comments as i that had nothing to do with death threats however in johnny bloods view they are. you choose to back someone who is purposely starting fights on your site. no wonder so many people send me private messages about how much they hate you. johnny blood seems to make several comments telling people not to do things that might get troy in trouble etc... it seems johnny blood is there to spy and convince people not to report troy. have fun defending troys followers there to undermine your site.

Thanks for your thoughts...I still am not sure what I am doing here yet, but I do enjoy posting and interacting with ya'll. Funny I am now posting in my own PERMANENT RECORD...scary internet tracking of sorts.
Not in it for the money, because I'm going to go out on a limb here, but there is no money for a non-professional Steemer like me. I like the freedom to say what I say, no blocking or editing...although there is that grayed out thing...I'm not sure how that even happens?

Congratulations @sass! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42