You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit & Cryptos: the Tide Has Turned...

in #steemit7 years ago

Hi, Titus-Dean! After two months, I am finally beginning to tiptoe around Steemit just to get an understanding of what this is all about. Still haven't posted a piece, but then did anyone ever really expect the mountain to come to Mohammed? Having avoided all social media like the black death of the Dark Ages, having accidentally created a YouTube channel when I didn't know how to make the interactive form page go away, having run my mouth in the YouTube comments section so audaciously that trolls are now threatening to kill me, I now venture into Steemit. Whew! And I want to thank you for stimulating that leap off the precipice. When you asked your YouTube audience to turn in this direction, we trusted you enough to do that. Perhaps some of us trusted your judgment when we had too little knowledge about cryptocurrency to make an informed decision. And now we're here for a very important reason that has nothing to do with the trading value of "the Steem." (Is that how you say it?) The insanity of the age presses upon us with a certain urgency, prompting us to speak now or forever hold our peace. What if the time does come when exercising the right to express an opinion is a dangerous, life-threatening decision? What if we're already living in that time but fail to recognize the warning signs? What if we're in denial? If Seth Rich, Shawn/Sean Lucas, and Beranton Whisenant are shouting out from the grave and demanding that we the survivors of injustice (thus far) finish their sentences and publish their interrupted statements, we really have no choice. That work must be done. And if doing that work requires taking a course in cryptocurrency, then let the learning begin. Because ultimately, it's really not about the cryptocurrency or the earning power. (I have not said one word in the two months since I joined and my Steem $ has already lost value.) It's about sharing ideas and fighting for the right to do so in any arena that fosters that environment. So thank you, Titus-Dean, for bringing me here. I can only imagine that it may have been your "whale" vote that increased my little minnow Steem power before I ever opened my mouth. I perceive an ominous war against what the Steemit platform represents, and that is a war that we must win together or lose alone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60526.03
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54