Does My Ego Look Big In This? (Steemit)

in #steemit8 years ago

Is an over inflated ego great for Steemit? Or is it a turn off.

I have just stepped into Month 2 of continuous blogging (Excluding Christmas and Boxing day) and here are my stats.

 (Bare with me this is relevant to my title)

  • $83 in the bank i can cash out on when ready
  • 985.999 Steem power
  • Estimated value at around $235.00
  • Reputation 62

I normally write about stuff that relates to my interests but today i wanted to review my first month of CONTINUOUS blogging on Steemit. (Average of 2 blog posts per day)

Now going back to the title Does My Ego Look Big In This? (Steemit)

I am not great with technical terms, i must admit. I'm still not sure about whales, steem, curation, uptrailing, downtrailing etc but what i am good at is this:

Controlling the ego. (Is it egotistical to say that?)

I am not great with receiving compliments, i'm quite clumsy at it really. My friends and family always say....just take the bloody compliment

So i do and i'm grateful.

There are two very valid reasons why i am reflecting on the ego today in my review of my Steemit participation.

1) Reputations

2) Comments led by ego

First point

1) Reputations

Have you ever watched Black Mirror? It is a futuristic series based on technology and in one episode it is about how a social media app (a bit like Facebook) has a reputation score and it basically puts a number on your social status. The higher it is the better you are  in society. You get better houses, more elegant friends... que jumping in society basically. 

Is this like Steemit? i thought, does reputation score us more highly in our social ranking? Well that's the name of the game isn't it? I'm proud that it is going up not down. I don't feel that it is an inflation on my ego to say that. But a compliment to myself, and i accept it.

But what if someone ruins your reputation by their own ego? I have seen this happen on here a few times, and on the Black Mirror episode. I know its not real life but it gets you thinking about how another's ego can effect someone else's success.

Point 2

Linked to the above post where other peoples ego gets in the way of others success. When a comment turns from a debate into a downright slanging match, resulting in down voting, it really does get on my nerves. An over inflated ego needs to back off to allow the flow of discussion. I see it so much on here. 

I like a good debate it helps me learn and it also opens my mind to think of things from another perspective.

My aim here, on Steemit, is to write what i love more than to inflate my ego. I need to work on keeping it in control, so i keep learning and understanding more, but i am here to do what i feel passionate about.

That is to write.

So do we let our Ego inflate and cause controversy (Controversial points can earn more money....?) or do we stick to a good old reputation that can better help us succeed?

My choice is the latter.



Sort:  

I think there needs to be a critical look on the whole thing-- the inflated ego, in this context, is the very act of inflating mediocrity to importance--that's not to say that mediocrity is necessarily bad, just that the internet itself is the peoples platform--mediocrity is the point that everyone can paint, everyone can sing, and so on--but when it enters a system of reward and reputation, intent on reward and reputation, than what else can it do but conflate with the ego with what it see's as success--(poor grammar and spelling is no excuse for success)

Some people succeed, without the smear of inflated ego, because they are genuine in their approach-- How many have seen this genuine approach (or read an article explaining the keys to success) and attempted to emulate it--the term "original content" is now on the drawing boards--the intent: success.

Thank you for your comments! Good discussion piece and yes i will continue to write. I am dyslexic and bad grammar, spelling, doesn't bother me when i see it on others, as i often slip up, but cannot edit quick enough. If i did, i would never, ever write! Some of the most amazing pieces are ignored because of this i feel. I like to discuss things, have the debate, as posted above. Its great to learn and get other perspectives. Thank you.

I understand the sentiment of stream of conscious writing as mistakes happen or words are accidently left out at gathering an idea or observation, whatever it is (I have plenty of chicken scratch papers that needed to be written in the moment--and some are better for it), but in this platform, in this article feeding context (and this is no attack on you) I don't understand why people don't just proofread after they write, then click post--how can it be a bad thing? Technology can delete and type at a whim-- I almost feel that some people are on the idea that it's rebellious to not spell correctly or use (at least) good grammar--to not play by the rules, but these rules are superficial at most--all the while, the principle by which they conduct their writing is still adherring to the rules of a system within boundaries and governed on rewards, and most importantly, left unquestioned, because as I was saying in my first comment, the intention is convoluted in money making and attention getting (what may have worked might have been the articles written fast and sloppy, "the content matters most", I agree-- but, the eyes gleam at 'punk' as a brand, which goes against the very idea of punk itself, lacking any so-called intrinsic substance. In the Philippines they understand the meaning of 'plastic' people, because they see it on TV, the internet--they're outside of the bubble)--
Some articles, I have no idea what they're even talking about, not only because of bad grammar and spelling or words missing, but because they seem to fixate solely on using words that create the image and facade of their attempted brand (philosopher, spiritually connected, anarchist, blah blah--) moreso than the message.

And yes, my dear keep writing--I only deleted that portion of my comment earlier because my phone spazzed the 'post' button and I didn't want to come off mistakenly sarcastic or mean. You replied too fast, :)

Haha sorry i have a habit of replying fast...no good with procrastination or patience i'm afraid. I didn't take it as mean or sarcasticso no worries there. I get what you mean about rushing to blindly post about stuff without due care or knowledge. Yes i agree that doesn't allow Steemit to develop the better content and clogs up the system somewhat. I have no idea sometimes with what a lot of people write and switch off very quickly at times. But i do like simple reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59077.53
ETH 2518.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48