Introduce a small tool I did a few years ago EzDig

in #steemit7 years ago

And the network is difficult to deal with the domain name resolution system, at least now looks like this.

I am in this article

The domain name parsing system is briefly described in:

Simply speaking, the Internet hosts rely on IP to differentiate, access to a host of services (HTTP, FTP, EMAIL, database, etc.) we first need to know the other's IP address. But the Internet host thousands, the abstract IP address can not remember at all, and the domain name is to give this address a good memory name. Therefore, we can go through the domain name of www. Baidu to ask the visit, through www. taobao. com domain name to visit Taobao.

and from domain name to IP process, is domain name resolution, is the domain name resolution server (name server) to complete.

In fact, DNS can not only dry domain name to IP things, but also can do a lot of things, such as CNAME, give the entire domain name alias, MX set the domain name mail exchange records and so on. Windows is more commonly used and DNS related when it is nslookup, it was very inconvenient to use, especially for my memory is not good people. Most of the time involving domain name parsing, I use ping to test, but Ping can only test a record, and involves the issue of DNS caching. Linux system on the dig function is much more powerful, but one to go to Linux operation, the second to command the line or not as convenient as the graphical interface. So around 2011, I have an idea, write a desktop Domain name query tool to facilitate their use.

It's easy to say, it's hard to do, especially for my program rookie.
Domain name resolution involves a lot of content, in order to achieve the function I want, I studied the following documents carefully

Domain Name System (DNS) Parameters
RFC 1034: DOMAIN names-concepts and facilities
RFC 1035: Domain names-implementation and specification
RFC 3596: DNS Extensions to Support IP Version 6
RFC 4291: IP Version 6 Addressing architecture
RFC 3596: A recommendation for IPV6 address Text representation

(actually learning more than this, basically every record involves an RfC, but the lapse is too long, forgotten)

And then try and debug, finally realized the many functions I expect.

Looks a little ugly.

Supported Query Types

For convenience, I have some DNS servers built into my program

I post this program to http://download cnet. com and http://www. softpedia. com

http://download cnet com/ezdig/3000-2085_4-75689668. html
http://www. Softpedia. Com/get/network-tools/ip-tools/ezdig. shtml

From these two stations, about 10,000 times around the download it.
and received feedback from enthusiastic users, for example, a professor of computer science at a foreign university, using my program to explain the DNS system to students, and sent me an email that my interface recuse misspelled, should be recurse, looked at, I have not changed over, ashamed. The other most exciting is Softpedia. com's editor, to my software wrote a review, and gave the software five-star praise, really flattered ah.

Also wrote a few blogs, introduced some related content

Ezdig to determine the Version of BIND
How to Hide BIND DNS Sever Version
How to convert a IPv6 address to it standard text presentation under Windows XP

After this upgrade to the 3.0 version of the software, joined the DNSSEC, recursive query and other support

But later busy working, not bother to go to two of download stations published, blog also lazy to write.

In the past 5 years, a lot of technical details I have forgotten everything.
But this tool is used on a daily basis.

The first two days to see the introduction of IPFs, claiming to subvert HTTP, there is a Ipns subsystem, domain name parsing system to be subverted. I hurried to write an article to record. In retrospect, I can tell people that in the old age of HTTP and DNS, I used to do a garbage gadget.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69512.95
ETH 3883.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73