So many ideas, so little time...

in #steemit6 years ago

As I start my warm-up writing for the day, I'm overwhelmed with ideas for what to write. This is annoying as other days I'll have nothing. That's creativity for you (or me at least). In the interests of not loosing these ideas, I'm going to post them all here this morning, in no particular order:

Big Steemit Interactions

If you've never been to SteemReports and had a look at the information that it pulls from the blockchain, you really should. (You should also consider at least following @SteemReports).

What really fascinates me is the Steemit Daily Vote/Flag Interactions - see my screenshot of today's so far (as of about 9:00am Melbourne time). sdrbi90218.jpg

Why do people vote for each other (or themselves) in the way the do? Why do they flag posts and comments? As I've discovered, it's all in the blockchain, but the nuance of these relationships - whether they are positive or negative isn't immediately apparent to newcomers like me.

Is #Zappl a good thing?

People, including @jerrybanfield, seem to be getting pretty excited about @Zappl. As they describe themselves:

Zappl is a short form micro-blogging platform that runs on the Steem Blockchain that launched October 2017.

I've seen this touted as Twitter for the Steem blockchain. I've don't know if you've been on Twitter lately, but I would be very careful to select which aspects of it you aspire to. Short posts are fine, but there is that thing where Twitter is a veritable dumpster-fire of misinformation, bad behaviour, intractable political arguments, and general idiocy. How that dynamic interacts with the upvoting/flagging system is something I'll follow with keen interest.

The Future of Steemit

Looking at the existing apps that supervene upon the Steem blockchain, as well as new ones in the works like Zappl, it's clear that these apps are needed to attract the bulk numbers of new users needed to keep the whole Steem ecosystem viable. And, in my humble and uninformed opinion, new users (and lots of them) are essential, until we figure out how how Steem could work as a something approaching a steady-state economy. I'll write lots on this later - just wanted to jot this down so I don't forget.

To be honest, I'm a little reticent to write down some of what I'm thinking about both the present state and future of Steem, but probably will anyway - I've never been very good at suppressing my urge to speak truth to power, even when it would be to my personal advantage to just keep my mouth shut.

On a completely unrelated note:

Should I put my CV on the Steem blockchain? I frequently get cranky when my institutional profile page goes offline (as it is at the moment), and it might be nice to just create a new post every time my employment/publication record needs updating, and as long as steemit exists, the page will be there! I'd really like some advice on whether or not this is a bad idea.

#TeamAustralia

Finally, and this is mainly so I have an excuse to use the custom footer that @bearone made for me (thanks!), I'd encourage any Aussies, Aussie expats, people currently residing in Australia, or with some other antipodean connections to consider joining up - especially if you are new to Steemit. Go to @TeamAustralia for more information.

DQmcHbDwtkt18cJR6NGVtp8WKwrvmqPPXETb2Ty1pGH3Zg9_1680x8400.png

That's all for now. If all goes well I'll have at least one more post out today. Thanks for reading, and as always, feel free to comment below.

Sort:  

Aha, so I guess you're connected to @kirkins and @tayai. You sure do vote for a lot of each other's stuff. Hope that works out well for you, Mr Kirkbride, and the enigmatic Tay-bot.

The one thing that I really like about this community is the peaceful discourse. The reward system in place has me thinking "black mirror" but is a nice break from the hostility of others platforms.

Id also give the idea of putting my CV or resume on steemit to boost by application for jobs up a little bit. Makit it look more professional. Probably no the best privacy wise though

True, it's not private. But for most people who university lecturers and researchers, the last thing they want is for what they've written and where they've worked to be private (just the opposite). Academics, especially those looking to boost their careers, are generally very publicity-hungry - it's just that most of them have no idea how to attract attention.

ah of course. Networking is the best resource for getting your work known

I tend to write down all my ideas when I have a productive day, (then not post them up later) but you raise some interesting points.

I don't think it's a bad idea to post your CV, in fact it sounds like a good idea. Just remember it will be there forever so that's probably a consideration to factor in, if you perhaps make a mistake on some details ;)

Yep - don't want to my usual thing and see the mistakes I made after I've posted something.

Great post. Very interesting mate.

I'm glad you thought so.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SamD from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Totally agree with you on the Twitter thing - although Zappl could be fun it was an app on my phone, as that's usually where and when I feel the inspiration to write a short something.

I SOOOOO want one of those footer images.... hint hint @bearone (I know you've been busy 😉🙏🏽☯️)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71