I just spent the past 24h helping two people onto Steemit - as prep for my 'Steemit Day'steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2017-06-11 at 07.01.30.png

I realise now what a huge amount of information someone has to take in during their early days on Steemit!

It is my nature to want to help people and I really enjoyed helping a friend set up his account yesterday, here in Bali.

For the last three hours it has been a cousin of mine in the UK... sending all my advice through Skype messages, so that he can refer back to the conversation. Which he will need to!

I am really excited to finally have a family member with me on here on Steemit!

Please show your support for his first post: Robin the Runner


What have I learned from this experience?

Many things!

  • Steemit is complicated!

  • To teach someone takes many hours.

  • It must be overwhelming for a newcomer who knows nothing about Bitcoin, to suddenly take in all of this information.

  • Without our help newcomers will progress much slower.

  • Info pages to which I can refer them are very useful tools! Like this amazing steemit help site.

Screen Shot 2017-06-11 at 06.40.46.png

Why is it in my interest to help people?

These people will in time teach other people... and so it grows. As does the value of our beloved currency.

They will (hopefully!) become my followers and upvote my work.

They may be minnows now, but with my help they will rise quickly and in time their vote will be worth more.


The Steemit Day

It is my intention to hold a day of training here in Bali to help newcomers with all of this information.

TP steemit day.jpg

I have been planning this day for some time, trying to build interest through word of mouth, as I would like to help as many people as possible. We have an amphitheatre here, so I would like to fill it :)

Having just helped two people in, I am a lot clearer now on the essential information and the best way in which to present it to them without their heads exploding.

So, onward and upward my friends.

I have a Steemit Day to plan...

Blessings to you all.

Latest version - needs tweaking.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for being helpful. Upvote!

It is my pleasure to offer my assistance to the community :)

Thanks for saying so, and sorry it took so long to get back to you ;)

Even though we spend hours on Steemit, It still is a relatively new Concept to grasp for outsiders.

We should do all we can to help make this community grow,
and help as many people onto the Steemit platform!

You are absolutely right. It is in our interest to help as many people as we can.

Sorry for the slow response here :)

AWESOME post .!

Thanks very much for your comment on this one and sorry for the slow response!

Steemit is da best! No more time-waste on Facebook :)

Absolutely my friend! No more Facebook... except to tell others how great this is :)

It's always rewarding to be able to help someone who is just getting started!
I will show him some support! :)

Thanks very much for your support on this one and sorry for the slow response. Better late than never ;)

You're welcome, @samstonehill! :) No worries as I know things can get a bit busy sometimes! Glad to have you as a friend! Hope you have a very good evening!

Thanks. Same to you my friend :)

You're welcome and thanks!
:)

Great info. thanks for posting - Voted & Following!

Thanks for the comment, vote & follow :)

Sorry it took so long to get back to you!

Awesome content. @samstonehill, I love your ideology to life.

Good job helping and recruiting newbies.

Thanks very much. Though it is becoming difficult now to help the vast number of people who ask me! Films will work better in future :)

Sorry for the slow response to this one.

Totally agree that it is overwhelming for the average Joe to get there head around this incredible concept. The next wave of authors will need to have their hand held to get started. Even many traditional bloggers can't get their head away from the concept of sharing content away from their blog page and that not only can you use Steemit to drive traffic to your blog but it is the easiest way to monetise your efforts.

That is exactly right. Steemit is such a great tool for so many reasons but does take a fair amount of learning before this can happen.

Sorry for the slow response to this one!

Good work and good luck!

Thanks very much for the comment and sorry for slow response!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05