Responding to Steemit comments without typing - LEARN SPEECH DICTATION!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 16.03.46.png

Due to damaging my right hand two days ago I am no longer able to touch type. As a consequence I had to find another way!

silly sammy sore hand.jpg

The solution presented itself in the form of Apple's Speech Dictation feature, activated by hitting the fn key twice.

It may be that you have to update your software as I had to. This takes only a few moments.

dictation.jpg

I made a short film to explain it clearly here.

It really is a great way to speed up your comment response process and buy yourself more time for writing awesome posts!

mad sammy.jpg

Looking forward to making more of these films.

Any suggestions as to what subjects you would like me to cover?

ASWD final banner v2 (low).jpg

Sort:  

You always post very helpful and good posts,thanks a lot. Will certainly use the strategy to rest my tired fingere..haha .Upvoted

Thanks for the comment. Am pleased you find my posts useful!

My hand is recovering nicely now and I have started typing again. Yay :)

Thats a good news. However allow it to recover 100% before you start full time blogging. You can use your left finger for only upvoting,,,still a win win for you.

Very good advice Sam. Upvoted and resteemed :-)

Thanks very much :)

I hope your hand will get well soon!
I hate typing (I use only two fingers), so this tool can be great. But I have an Android phone. Is there any tool for Android? Or desktop?

Yes there is – on Android use SwiftKey app. I was pleasently surprised how well it recognizes speech @kalemandra

Thanks for the info. Was not aware of this :)

Thanks for the comment. The hand is recovering nicely now :)

Back to speedy touch typing again!

I used it once (not from apple, but something similar) but it didn't work that well... it's was probably me, though!

For some reason it seems to really like my British accent! My french partner doesn't stand a chance with it :)

Hehe! That must be it! The Belgian/dutch accent doesn't seem to work either! Should UK-anize myself a bit hehe

Get well soon, as always practical and helpful advice from you

Thanks very much for the kind comment.

The hand is recovering nicely now :)

I was posting while on vacation, dictated my text on my phone into google docs then copied and pasted to my post.

Nice idea! I was doing the same thing on the ipad last time we went on holiday :)

Ah, you again! haha. Thanks for the comment my friend. I do appreciate your upvote and comment but like I have already said, it is not good practice to put your links in the comments.

Use the FB groups, steemit.chat and Discord for post promotion.

Best of luck on Steemit!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $41.27 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79