Cryptocurrency explained & a closer look at Bitcoin & Steem. Not forgetting this awesome platform Steemit!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

It has been my intention for some time to create a video post for my Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube & Liveleak fans (of whom there are around 3000) in which I explain exactly what cryptocurrency is and why I have become a Steemit addict. For years I have posted my films on Youtube, sharing them on the above sites, gaining very little reward for my time. Below you can see my YouTube analytics for the last 365 days.

And my estimated revenue of $54.89 does not represent my actual earnings. 50% has already gone to YouTube, and a further 40% goes to BBTV, my so-called YouTube agent, who basically just give me free access to a music library (Epidemic Sound).

So my earnings this year are around $30. Enough to pay for dinner. And as if that wasn't bad enough, the money is then transferred to PayPal, so if I want to access it in Indonesian Rupiah (which I do, because I live in Bali) there are further currency exchange rate losses, bank & ATM charges still to endure. Now I can only pay for my appetiser. Let alone the main course!

Here on Steemit I have earned around $400 in just over a month and have found myself interacting with interesting, forward-minded people, ultimately learning from them whist sharing in their success. Rather like the all but forgotten system of a Gift Economy, here we share what we have with the community and there is no one manipulating the system to line their pockets with gold at the top of an invisible pyramid.

And this is just the beginning my friends. Never before have I come across such a genius idea as Steemit and it has been a genuine pleasure reading the advanced kind of content that can be found and getting to know people here. In start contrast to my experience with LiveLeak 'fans' who call me every name under the sun, stuck in the fear based control system we are bravely leaving behind.

Living aside a jungle in Ubud was the last place I expected to meet a cryptocurrency expert who has taught me so much over the last two months. Before this I am not ashamed to say that I knew virtually nothing about this subject, only about the existence of Bitcoin and even that I had no real concept of. It was just this thing that other people were doing! But we are all beginners once right?

There is a tendency on this planet for people to shy away from change and anything that challenges the status quo, so I applaud all you minnows for being open-minded enough to take the first important step in seeking to understand this quantum shift in the de-centralisation of our 'money' system and the way in which this site rewards their users, whilst protecting them from the claws of the centralised and ultimately doomed machine know as our modern banking system.

I asked my mother two days ago if she had heard of Bitcoin. Not only had she not heard of it, but neither had any of the ten friends she was sitting with at the time. I realise they are a different generation from me but they are all the kind of people who read newspapers, watch the news, listen to the radio etc... So I would have thought that at least one of them would have heard of it? But no.

I would imagine this is because the mainstream media which they are addicted to does not report on this subject. Or if they do, it is in a negative light.

The film you can see at the top of this post is the most important episode yet of my ongoing series I call Sammy's Simple Solutions, looking at solutions to the increasing number of planetary problems. Crytocurrency is growing in popularity and challenges our current financial system in a way that nothing before it has been able to do.

We are living in very exciting times and as someone who stopped using the banking system 3 years ago, this is the perfect answer for me. Even here in Ubud, central Bali, I can pay for certain hotels, I can order organic food to my door and I can top up my mobile phone credit using my Bitcoin 'wallet'. And let's not forget, I can of course simply exchange my Bitcoin for cash. To deal with those less advanced establishments.

Steemit is a new platform similar to Reddit, but with one notable difference: You are financially rewarded for original posts and intelligent use of your up-voting power. It runs on a cryptocurrency called Steem and the value of this currency is very low right now, so from my perspective there is no time to waste in joining this game and enjoying the ride as the value of your Steem increases in the same way Bitcoin has done consistently over the last few years.

I have been so excited by this new platform Steemit, I have created a Facebook Group (https://www.facebook.com/groups/1281526168558106/) dedicated to helping the new-comers pick up Steem fast. I called it 'Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins' because here on Steemit they use fish related terminology to describe our power on the platform. I am but a humble minnow for now, but I have big dreams and every confidence that I will be swimming with the bigger fish in time. And it is my intention to help others follow in my steps :)

Finally a very important note for those of you new to this system:

Hope you enjoyed this presentation. Please feel free to ask me any questions. I am here to help :)

Here are some links to get you started:

Download your Bitcoin 'wallet' here for your computer here and don't forget to write down your passwords and keep them in a safe (off-line) place: https://electrum.org/#download

Download your Bitcoin wallet for your iphone here: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/mycel...

Download you Bitcoin wallet for your Android device here: https://play.google.com/store/apps/de...

Join the Steemit platform and start earning now: https://steemit.com/create_account

Use this site to create posts before copy/pasting them into Steemit: http://www.steemstyle.com

Exchange your Steem for Bitcoin here: https://poloniex.com

Find your nearest Bitcoin to cash exchange merchant here: https://localbitcoins.com

Sort:  

Another excellent post, Sam! You're one of my favorite writers on this platform. Interesting to have some insights on how much you earn on Youtube. It provides a great way to compare earnings with Steemit. Wishing you a happy day!

Many thanks for your comment. I am glad to have you with us in the FB group. Hope to see it expand over time.... Happy day to you too :)

Thank you for this priceless information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59