UNDERSTANDING Steemit Rewards ( STEEM DOLLAR & STEEM POWER)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

When I first joined steemit.com, I just didn't know what those things in the picture below meant, so I decided not to even trying changing it, so as not to "spoil" my account, lol.

Screenshot_2017-07-18-13-54-09.png

IMG_20170718_142521.jpg

when you're about to make a post, there are 4 options you'll notice by the bottom right

Under Rewards you'll see

  • Power Up 100%
  • Default (50/50)
  • Decline Payout

I'll briefly explain each

1. Power Up 100%:

If /when you choose this option, you're telling steemit.com to convert all your rewards to STEEM POWER. (the simplest way to explain it)

received_10209793139967182.jpeg

what is steem Power?

Well I have my own definition of steem Power, steem Power according to @samstickkz is "the power to give and get and get money"

More definition:

Steem power – Also known as SP in short, is basically a token symbolizing how much influence you have inside the Steemit platform. If you have a lot of SP your upvotes will count more and will award different authors SP and Steem dollars as well.

2. Default (50/50):

This option splits your rewards into STEEM DOLLAR and STEEM POWER.

STEEM DOLLAR:

Steem dollars – This is the currency of the Steemit platform and is also known as SBD. This is what people send to one another when they upvote posts on Steemit. The reason it’s called Steem Dollar is because 1 Steem dollar represents any amount of Steem required to reach 1 USD depending on the exchange rate at that time (more or less).

Currently 1 SBD is over $1
Screenshot_2017-07-18-15-38-56.png

3. Decline Payout

Choosing this option declines payment, you'll get no rewards on upvote.

4. Upvote post:

Leaving this option ticked gives you the opportunity to "TIP YOURSELF"

NOTE:

  • If you power up, you will be able to Upvote and give money out to anyone you upvote including yourself But....You will not be able to take your money out easily, You will get it in 13 installments (13 weeks) 'I think' if you powerdown to get your money back
    Easy explanation.. It gives you power to Upvote and give out more money.. but you can't just take all your money out at once again..

Ref : @yemmy4eva

received_10209776534792063.jpeg

If you think this was helpful and other new steemians needs to know these things, Pls upvote and resteem.

received_10209781718841661.jpeg

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Ref: https://99bitcoins.com/making-money-with-steemit-steem-dollars-and-steem-power-explained/

Sort:  

Thx for the summary, I'm curious why someone would prefer the decline payout option, any ideas/arguments?

Lol, if you're too rich and don't need any extra money

Does there exist the state of being "too rich"?

OK, there is a peek in behavioral economics, where we won't feel wages improving our life significantly. But this setting here is different. Consider the state of having reached being too rich and you make such a non profit posting (this expression I'm making here unfortunately does not hit the bull's eye, I know):

  1. You can't help others with the money you could have earned, neither with SP nor SMD. 2. Who would vote for it? Maybe someone who is also "too rich"? 3. It opens up the possibility to de-monetize or de-capitalize steemit as a whole and simultaniously rejects the argument (often used by Zuckerberg's Zombies) of having only profit driven creatures here......

Actually, the postings on steemit are much better of quality and a conscious looking at value, of how I value my time and with whom, at prices and who sets the prices, at (my) daily digital habits is not a disadvantage.

Great bro i don't know about so thanks for explaining

You're welcome

Yo gee waddup, so I'm browsing posts to promote and I see cheetah on yours, nt cool bro. I'm helping promote NG posts, and I see you're a Cryptos analyst like me! Good works so far.

Didn't remember to put a quote

Anyways, I just followed you

Thanks for this explanation. It helped newbz me understand SP better.

You're welcome sir, I just followed you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64