Presents in the Present- An Ode to Steemit- Helping Others with SBD!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

In less than a year Steemit has done a lot for me!



laptop-2592785_960_720.jpg



Over the last couple months, I've been able to start using the steem I've powered down to do some pretty amazing things.

The first big thing being that I was able to afford was a trip to Melbourne with @dunstuff and @stitchybitch! (Thanks, Steemit and steemit friends!) We were able to help some people along the way with little things. Homeless people getting loaded down with lots of spare change, drinks, and the occasional snack.

@dunstuff and I even helped a gentleman that was drunk out of his head. He was fed, rehydrated, and given some fresh clothes. @stitchybitch and I ran into him some weeks later on the street. He had his lovely girlfriend on his arm, and he was eternally grateful for the kindness.

Everyone knows that kindness and love are free, but sometimes, having some money can help in ways that having a big heart can't.

Which brings us back to @dunstuff. A lot of you know the fanciful pony that whinnies his way into your heart! @dunstuff began on steemit because.. well, I wouldn't leave him alone until he did. We have been friends for about 11 years and I knew he would love it here.

The only real problem being that Dun was working with a laptop that was held together solely with love, spit, and some bubblegum. The ol' girl was tired and ready to go to pasture. It was bad.

Sometimes you could hear it choke and sputter from the other room, the fan making a sound that wasn't unlike a human voice begging..

"Let.. me.. die.."


It was obviously time to upgrade his equipment and I had the funds to help! And seeing that his birthday was also looming on the horizon, @stitchybitch and I headed to the mall!

I spent a good while wandering the store and looking at every single laptop they had available, reading over specs and attempting to pick out the perfect one. Which is always hard when the person it is for isn't present.. and your co-pilot sneaks off only to return 20 minutes later with a huge bag of yarn and a guilty expression.

But after a small eternity of browsing, I came across one that seemed to fit his needs perfectly. And it was shiny!

An Aspire E5-523G!

Aspire_E5-571-531-551-521-511_nontouch_black_glare-gallery-01.png

It features an AMD A9-9410 2.9 GHz; Dual-core processor, 1 TB hard drive, DVD writer, DDR4 8GB memory, and an AMD Radeon R5 M430 graphics card (with up to 2GB dedicated)!

The biggest selling point for this being the best laptop for Dun was that it not only had the dvd writer so he could burn and play his dvds, but it also had a VGA port for older tech along with the HDMI!(He is a bit of a connoisseur when it comes to collecting items, some older but still functional!) The graphics card would also be capable of supporting games he may want to play! And that is important, as everyone knows!



Happy birthday, @dunstuff!



This is just the beginning of what steem is going to help me do in the world and for others! I'm so excited! <3

Thank you, Steemit, and for everyone that has helped me along the way for giving me the opportunity to give back and lend a helping hand!




Much Love, @sammosk <3

image credit to Acer, gif credit to giphy!

Sort:  

Its good to see your steem profits being used to help other's. It's also nice to have a treat once in a while lol ! I hope you continue to grow here on steemit ;)

I hope so, too! Thank you for the lovely comment! Hoping to help tons of others in the future! <3

omg, that horsecake gif. i cant breathe. lol....

on the plus side, this acer aspire allows me to view it within seconds, not 20 min later :P

I'm deleting my comments.
Being down voted by Content censoring whales sucks
and hurts minnows who only earn 0.01 per post/comment anyhow
This whale BS will kill STEEM imho

if u know what u want, u will get there

I got an Acer Aspire 5 years ago. I love it. Twice my husband has come home with a "new better" lop top for me and both times I tried the new lap tops and decided what I already had was much better and the new one went.
Your friend should be happily computing on this unit for years to come.

he sure should

im still using my first lappy. an acer aspire one 10'1 with 1.6ghz, 1gb ram, and win xp

No SSD? What year is this? That's cruel and unusual punishment!

We make him crawl for the SSD! Bwaaaahahahahah! Not really. :)

Lol dragging the 960 pro along the ground via fishing wire, reeling him in.

My dad still prefers his razor flip flop phone. To each there own :)

im going to go buy one of those new 3310's soon. saw em on special for $49 today

Flips and bricks are awesome.

Steemit is great social communication sight

Amazing post... Thank you friend

Thanks for lending a helping hand to people especially at the time when they needed it most!
Helping one another will make the world a better place!

One small kindness at a time! Just getting rolling! <3

Yeah! Keep up the good work.

and to think, he is only briefly mentioning the people we collaboratively helped. in times whilst he was catching up on rest, i was out reaching others solo ;)

;)

That's inspiring to know what steemit has done for you. A newbie like me needs to know that there is something amazing ahead as long as we continue.

It is really easy to get discouraged when you are just starting out! Remember that it takes a while to build a following and there will always be ups and downs! Just keep going and never give up! <3

Thank you for the encouragement!

Good to see you have done preety amazing thing, keep steeming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50