What does co-impact sourcing really achieve...........

in #steemit6 years ago

27750879_1717763548284416_1761473068228441926_n.jpg

I love vetiver essential oil so much for its properties as natures sleeping remedy, it supports so many people with sleep difficulties, anxious feelings and a raft of other things .....

But I love love love how ever bottle we buy creates income, industry and community for those who source them

Doterra Founder Emily Wright recently shared this beautiful account of the way that the sourcing project in Haiti touched her

Four years ago this week my life was forever changed

I remember driving through Port-au-Prince and the many smaller towns en route to Les Cayes and my heart sinking as I witnessed the extreme poverty all around me.

Mothers were searching through garbage cans in hopes of finding something to feed their hungry children.

Filthy, contaminated rivers were providing families with the only source of life-giving water.

The devastation of a land continually shaken from earthquakes and flooded with rain and ocean waters was ever present. It was more than my heart could take in.

My desire to fix it all and knowing I couldn't haunted my soul.

I went to Haiti in search of the world's finest Vetiver essential oil.

I found what I was searching for but returned home with so much more-- a grander perspective of the empowering impact doTERRA could have on the world.

Through the coordinating efforts of Georges, our trusted Vetiver sourcing partner, we were able to meet the men and women who have been harvesting and cleaning vetiver root to provide for their families--a trade that has been passed down for generations.

We realized their harvesting efforts were unorganized and their income unpredictable and unsustainable. To organize these efforts, they needed a guaranteed buyer who was willing to pay the price for a therapeutic essential oil quality that was simply unmatched.

Our needs aligned in a beautiful way, and magic quickly began to happen.

I could write a book on this subject and all that has happened since my initial trip four years ago.

My heart is so full!

Although we cannot fix the economic limitations of the entire country, there is much we can do and are doing.

We have brought clean water to communities who were in desperate need. We have equipped school houses and provided sustainable income opportunities to parents so children may break the cycle of poverty through proper education.

We have rebuilt homes destroyed by the elements and lifted up communities. We have given hope much due to the efforts of our Healing Hands Foundation.

We have created structure and a bright future for those who harvest and distill the vetiver thanks to our Co-Impact Sourcing efforts and our amazing partners who are as committed to lifting the people of Haiti as they are producing the finest vetiver essential oil the world has ever known. (doTERRA has exclusive rights to this gorgeous vetiver essential oil they produce.)

27797506_1717764484950989_5765383606243002106_o.jpg

Please know as I use the word "WE," this includes YOU! We are doing this together! As doTERRA continues to grow and the demand for pure and potent essential oils increase around the globe, the opportunities to uplift communities grows, too.

The next time you open a bottle of vetiver to support a good night's rest or calm your mind, know that you have impacted lives in a country that is most grateful for the hope you have given.

For this, I thank you!28061774_1717764844950953_7514166262874796161_o.jpg

When I partnered with my business partner Ben Lee to grow an essential oils business it was to challenge current business models and participate in a paradigm shift around multi level marketing,to grow a sustainable income source for my own heart project The Nana project and to teach and support others to do the same - to make philanthropy accessible to all!

If you would like to learn more about this and how this model could support your ideas, plans, dreams and goals please reach out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05