Steemit Etiquette - Stop Your Begging

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I've been around for a year now and until recently I haven't seen this much begging and whining and comment hijacking as I see now. My buddy who uses Steemit.chat to advertise his posts told me he's giving that up because of the insane amount of private messages he gets asking him for vote2vote or follow2follow. That's fucking sad if you ask me.


This is a photo of a person using a traditional begging technique.

Is this what Steemit has come to? A community of beggars and schemers?

For Steemit to keep growing it needs quality content. It's not a get-rich-quick scheme. Go call one of those 'mystery shopper' ads if you're into that.

Here how you, Joe Noob, can be a good member:

  1. Upvote content you actually like and read
  2. Stop asking new members to follow you
  3. Stop linking your boring shit from other people's thread
  4. Stop begging for upvotes like my cat begs for table scraps
  5. Post your own content that you actually created with your own brain cells and hands
  6. Stop messaging people on chat asking for f2f v2v
  7. Stop expecting instant rewards
  8. Stop begging for resteems
  9. Stop tagging every retarded post as #steemit
  10. Learn from successful posters

10 is the most important point

Those successful posters go out there every single day and think of new ideas, make videos, take pictures, think about what it is you will find the most entertaining, etc. They edit their posts, make their pics look amazing, work on their videos. Look at @papa-pepper @jeffberwick @sweetsssj @runridefly @gringalicious and a bunch of others. Even if you dislike them or disagree with them. Editing videos, staging pictures, making coherent posts and all that, shit takes a while. It's not a "I'll follow you if you follow me" game.

This post isn't humor. This shit isn't funny anymore.

That is it. I'm going to get a coffee now.

Sort:  

Well one thing that's not mentioned in the usual advertising tag line "get paid to post!" is that there's a slow, excruciating warmup time before you can even make $1 a week. You won't get jack for at least 6 months unless you're an exceptional content creator (who could already be making more on other platforms).

If people were aware of that right off the bat, they'd set their expectations accordingly.

But of course, advertising steemit as "easy" and "just be yourself and get paid lol" lures more in so so be it =)

Yeah that's one issue. To get rich quick you have to not just create content but create content that's revealing about yourself. At the same time, you must be sympathetic and appeal to the majority of active community participants. For some, particularly those trying to escape poverty, Steemit is a chance. It's a chance the same as letting it all ride on red is a chance but it's a chance.

Thanks. I'll take all the good advice i can get

why we can't have nice things people abuse everything good in life

Yeah that's pretty much it, just don't want them to ruin Steemit.

I agree one hundred and ten percent. If you're in desperate times trying to get a little help I get it ask kindly. But begging all of the time isn't any help. Nor is it productive asking vote for vote or follow for follow. What does that acheive? You want people who are genuinly interested in your content and people to be voting on things they like. Good post here.

Exactly. Cheap follows are just that, cheap. They'll unfollow you to achieve Instagram perfection; as many followers as possible with as fewer followed as possible.

Pretty much. I'll follow someone if I have a genuine in your content or like what you have to say. People don't seem to realize this platform is something which you build on. Not some type of overnight thing. There's no hacks or short cuts.

Great post 👍 Very true, I'm still fresh here and am annoyed at all the self-promotion in the comments of good posts. I think if you want followers say or do something that's worth following instead of just making a cocoon of self gratification. Thank you, will follow and I expect nothing back until I do something worthwhile.

Oh I bet you're getting bombarded with all the f2fs. I noticed there's a few who spam new profiles with c/p comments.

Luckily I've been flying under the radar haha but I'll keep a vigilant watch.

Hopefully it's just a phase we're going through. I'm still very new myself compared to many others but even I found this very annoying from the very start

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60248.53
ETH 3368.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51