You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Crowd Funding] Help Homeless Steemians and Help Promote Steemit at the Same Time!

in #steemit7 years ago

What I don't like about fifth wheel/gooseneck is it takes up room in the truck bed and you can't put a cap on. There's a contraption you can attach to a normal hitch to tow one but it looks retarded.

Sort:  

I get that, but Fifth wheels do not sway (uncontrollably) like bumper pulls tend to do. They are much more stable, less fuel mileage though!

I've never driven with one due to the truck cap issue. It can probably be remedied by one of those roll up tonneau covers. I think either way what you get depends on where you want to go. I wouldn't take any trailer or RV through the mountains but I've seen crazies do it. On open terrain the bigger the better. I'm betting you can get something off craigslist for cheap now that the season is winding down. Same with trucks. No one buys vehicles going into the winter.

Yeah I think a Bus is going to be the best option. Something designed for 40ish passengers. I will rip out the majority of seats and build in living space, kitchen, etc. Keeping only a few seats in the front to give fellow Steemians rides at Meetups and so forth.

Or run an illegal Shuttle if we need to make some money to keep traveling!

Something like this is what I am thinking....they usually already have Water/Power systems installed so converting to RV is easy. They can be picked up in great condition for $10-15,000.

Won't that be classified as a commercial vehicle by the DMV and come with the requirement to run all the logs and insurance bullshit?

Yes at time of purchase it would be classified as a commercial vehicle. However, soon as I strip out most of the seats and start building in Cabinets, Kitchen, Beds, etc. I can re-title the vehicle as an RV.

Didn't know you could retitle. That's not too bad of an option then providing the engine is in good form.

On the plus side seems like there's a lot of car auctions going on around Colorado so it won't be that hard to find.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66745.34
ETH 3326.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71