Why I'm Writing for Steemit More Than My Own Site

in #steemit7 years ago

steemit blog.png

I've run a website for years, a horror site called TheMoonisaDeadWorld.net where I review new films and write essays about the latest things in the genre. It's been an unpaid gig of mine for quite a while even despite some advertising dollars and Amazon affiliate payments, and while I've had a lot of fun working on my site (and getting free movie screeners in the process), it often feels like a fruitless endeavor when the site's hits are low and interest in blog-style websites has seemingly waned over the past few years.

But then I found Steemit,

a community where I could not only share some of my writing with other people but also get paid to do it! While I've only been here for about a week, my time with Steemit has been amazing so far and I feel like I'm just getting started. I'm also a tiny bit obsessed with posting!

The positive qualities that Steemit features are endless, and in truth I find that I enjoy posting to Steemit a lot more than my own website because my posts find readers. There's an easy system in place to see what people like and don't like. On a website, it's hard to get feedback especially if people aren't finding their way to your URL. On Steemit, I don't have to worry about that - I just post the content and hope that it finds the right readers.

As a newbie, I realize that I still have a lot of work to do on Steemit to get followers and create a strong reader base. But unlike writing on my own website, I feel that this is a goal that can be accomplished. I encourage other writers struggling to find an audience on their own blogs or sites to check out Steemit, give it a try, and perhaps get paid in the process!

If you'd like, give me a follow and come along on my Steemit journey.

Sort:  

Glad to hear you like the site, I just got an account and am looking to have the same success with my posts in the future if I ever find something good to write about!

I'm sure you will find something - and just remember to keep at it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60833.36
ETH 3370.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49