5 Things You Would Boss Yourself To Do (A Revenge Challenge)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Last night, on a comment thread, I got a Revenge Challenge Call from @onceuponatime


And when Lord Byron challenges you, you should live up to his expectations :P



I get pretty annoyed when told what to do, a reason I would never join the army (of course having to wake up very early is another deterrent). Being self-employed for 10 years now, with some breaks of working in the private and public sector, have turned me into a "disobedient" creature when people try to boss me around (of course it's always how you say something that makes the difference between orders and instructions).

Of course no one is 100% a boss of themselves, since there are laws and rules we have to obey in order to live in harmony on this planet, but to a great extend we should be (The question of whether we truly are the boss of ourselves is another great philosophical issue, considering laws, geography, society, peer and family pressure, mental and physical capacities of oneself and a lot more...).


To the chase, 5 Things I Would Boss Myself To Do:

#1 Be a better me!

As I approach my thirties I have done a lot of self-analysis and know my weaknesses. I work on fixing them, if I can't turn them into strength.

#2 Stop procrastinating!

When I don't like something I have to do, I keep postponing it until the last minute. I haven't always been like that, but now I often have to pull myself together and do the dull tasks before "deadline" is over.

#3 Get rid of pessimistic thoughts!

You know it's annoying when you always think of the worst possible scenarios. Sometimes you should quit overthinking and just let things be...

#4 Don't worry about things I can't control!

When bad or unlucky things happen I get angry and worried. I need to remind myself the above quite often.

#5 Don't be afraid to take risks

I rarely take risks, so I need some serious pushing before trying out new things when the odds of success are too few...

I am the boss of this post and I will share a #6 Stop whining, it frustrates people 

When I am annoyed I start whining and people may feel uncomfortable. I need to control that, I'm taking baby steps, but I have made good progress so far.

And a #7 Get rid of all these clothes and bags and shoes you haven't used for the past 5 years

There are other people in this house that need shelves in the shared wardrobe (id est my sister).


So, that was all. I hope you are delighted, my Lord @onceuponatime.


(Image from: pixabay.com


PS: @abigail-dantes, I believe you got enough "material" for my psychography outline? ;)

The rest of you can check out the latest Trolls' Adventure On Jupiter or go to this random link and see what I hid there for you :P

Thank you for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!


Sort:  

Ahahahah
Invaluable material indeed!
Ps: I have not forgotten the 5 facts about me challenge. I will be posting on Friday - I told you that, right?

Thank you for reading that, sweet Abigail! :)

Yes, you have told me about bringing your post out on Friday, I'm looking forward to it ;)

I have a good experience at been bossed. I am still under being bossed but that wont be for long. It has increased my tolerance level and forced humility down my throat. All in all, I think it has made me a better person.

You will never appreciate the sun unless you witnessed the snow

You are right, working under someone else's orders teaches obedience, humility and patience. But it is hard to develop all these when you are used to working alone for many years.

yea....that could be hard. It is better to be bossed before being a boss and not vice versa.

DONT YOU DARE CHALLENGE ME!

Whenever I see you somewhere commenting like this, I am laughing my butt off!

I second this!!!!

last summer I tried to return to normality. I went so far to get a job and work at Mykonos for the summer season. Turns out after tasting sovereignty from steemit and becoming a global citizen it is very hard to return to be a loyal worker that works 12 hours per day for 30 euros.

Well at least now I know where I stand and what is that I am after.
you stole this vote from me. But you are so worth it.

ps/ Make some room at the fridge for that starving man of yours.
love @skapaneas.

Doesn't it feel a loooot better? When you know you are responsible for your success or failure, set the working times for yourself and don't have anyone over your head? Those years of self-employment have made me pretty restless...

As for that man of mine, I think he can take good care of himself :P

Thanks for your support! :)

I am so hearing you!
Self-employed I am, too. And have some difficulties do obey as well. So I join your club.

For No. 2, I got something to say

When I don't like something I have to do, I keep postponing it until the last minute. I haven't always been like that, but now I often have to pull myself together and do the dull tasks before "deadline" is over.

Useless. With me, anyway. I always find inventive ways to distract myself with other things. Since I don't want to give myself a hard time over and over again, I now simply live with the fact that I always work towards the very last second. Whether it's a letter to an insurance company or the last minute tax return. Basically, you can rely on it: the last minute is certain to come. And then you do the unfinished shit: efficient and good.

So what I learned to deal with easily and sometimes have to learn again and again is that I accept to be a last-minute person. You can count on it!

:-))

Thank you!!! I know there are many of us out there. And you know what? It's not our fault, it's just the nature of those "boring" tasks that urges us to be distracted. I mean who wouldn't like to look at beautiful pictures on a travel blog instead of filling up a form? :P

Jokes aside, when it comes to something serious, I try my best to make it on time. I guess the hardest thing is to get others accept you the way you are.

... You are welcome!

I mean who wouldn't like to look at beautiful pictures on a travel blog instead of filling up a form? :P

Everybody would prefer to do whatever can be done in order to prevent filling up a form - LOL!

... hmm... I would beg to differ. I think the hardest thing is to accept oneself. If that is done, acceptance from others will easily be experienced. Or way more easy. :) What do you think?

I have accepted myself. The things I don't like about me I try to change and the qualities I value I try to develop... I'm having trouble being accepted by others most of the time :(

tasks everywhere :) We will get better if that is what we wish.
Good night to Greece.

Good night to Germany! :)

With #4 on lockdown, you would live to be at least a 100 :)

You think?? :P

Bosssssss, you owe us a trip and a spa... do not forget it? I also have and witness for it @artgalleryraka... i am waiting it.. not only shoes,clothes and bags.. :ppppppppppp

I wonder what is stopping you from doing all those things. I don't believe there is a law to force you to procrastinate, right ?

There is an inner voice that tells me to :P

yes of course, we all have that this voice in our head.
and yet some people just make it shut up and other people make it a tiny whisper , a whisper in their ear they cannot even hear. and as it whispers, they feel relaxed and confident. and the more it whispers the more relaxed and confident do they feel. and they may even go to places when they felt even more relaxed and more confident and this whisper takes them there. and the journey goes on until they no longer need it.
you could go there and you may not . it is your choice...
just a thought... :)

I have turned it down a lot the past 3 years, but I can still hear it. It takes time for such things to work.
Thank you for the encouragement!! :)

"Boss of this post..." got me smiling, keep bossing @ruth-girl

Hehehe! Thanks @heeyanuh! :)

#8
Stop bossing around yourself and fly away to be free of any kind of rules

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50