Steemit upvoting technic

in #steemit7 years ago

Maybe you noticed that I gave upvotes with lesser percentage on the slider.
That's only because I want to recover my voting power so this will not last for long. As I check my "battery" on https://steemstats.com/ every day, I can't not to think about quality of posts that I upvote.

My methods are old, I do it with my fingers on my mouse ;).
I have always avoided to give automatic upvotes and support something that I don't know what. Well, everybody does that, the most of the users don't even check what they upvote. I must say that I don't upvote a user. I upvote a post and user's good or bad history on this network has nothing to do with that.

Many of early adopters noticed and wrote about new generation of spammers and their copy/paste "I follow you/you follow me" concept of comments and we were all mad about it!
But if you stop and think for a second, we all upvote and support the same people all the time! And those same people follow, upvote and support us for longer than a year! Isn't that the same like "I follow you/you follow me" concept?
It's nice to have regular supporters on daily basis and we are all regular supporters to some other users that we have chosen.

Until when?
Until someone get's angry because she/he had a bad day and snaps on his followers and says some bad things? Until that someone doesn't show her/his bad side? And you will not even notice that! Because you will see familiar name on the list and you will upvote without even checking!

There are so many posts rewarded more than 30$ and those who gave them such a reward didn't even check the content!
I'm pretty sure that the number of views depends on minnows! For example, the one who get's 50$ every day, receives 5$ reward from those who opened the post and 45$ from those who didn't. There is no any data or numbers to confirm my theory, but I have spoken with many "Steem powerful" users about their methods of upvoting and I'm pretty sure that 90% of reward on your post came from those who never opened your post.

Otherwise, we have a lot of those who will open the post, support you in the comments and they will not upvote you!
Especially the recent generation of so-called minnows. Many of them will write the comment like "great story, thanks for sharing" they won't upvote you, then you have to remind them. And they answer that they don't upvote because their votes don't have any value.

Well, that's wrong!
If your upvote doesn't give any cents or dollars to others, why not to upvote posts that you like because of support and how can you expect to be supported if you don't really support anyone?

Every vote counts!
I remember a year ago, my upvote didn't worth anything and I didn't have slider to choose the percentage of my impact. So I simply upvoted all that I liked. I didn't care about my voting power because I didn't need it! The whole battery recovers for five days and it can take for months for some new users to get enough Steem power for the slider! So, don't keep your upvotes for better days, upvote people, be a supporter and you will be supported. This is like back to "I follow you/you follow me" concept but less rude!

I'm hired as a temporary curator for #whalepower, a movement founded by @bullionstackers.
Honestly, I'm not happy with the most post that I can find under that tag because some people think that they can upload a photo or a spam, hire @randowhale or @booster, then expect upvote from #whalepower crew! That's not how this goes, we are looking for hidden gems! And the rest of the crew are stronger than I am and it doesn't have to mean that the rest of the crew will upvote what I support!

Thanks for understanding!

Sort:  

There are still some people who do that. Plagiarism! Flagged!

@dumar022 @bullionstackers i flagged this post as well :)

This is my first post to flag and I'm like a little boy in a toy store. Steem On Dudes!

@rups
What can I do with you?
You are found copying the whole content of @dumar022 , and you are new.
I will let him decide.
Because my 100 % Flagged, can damage your Reputation. Feel free to explain yourself why can't you do your original content rather than copied someone works.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@dumar022/moral-upvoting-careful-with-your-power

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61068.10
ETH 2655.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58