The New Steemit... Finding Lazy Ways to Create Engaging & Quality Content

in #steemit6 years ago

The New Steemit


Back in June of 2017 when I first got on Steemit I used to see a lot of long form really high quality content. Now I'm not saying that long form content is the only quality content, but generally speaking long form content can oftentimes be more engaging and can oftentimes be more high quality, someone actually put some decent effort into creating it and was passionate about the topic they were creating about.

Back then however the Steem and SBD prices were higher, and the overall moral and sentiment here was a lot more positive as well. Over the past months I've seen the length of content get shorter, which isn't in and of itself a bad thing, but I'm also seeing a lot of halfass cellphone shots without any story, that aren't really that visually interesting, and where someone didn't even take the time to get good lighting or frame the photo.

I'm with you guys, my content has gotten shorter and maybe a bit lazier. I think the new way to spend time on and hopefully succeed on Steemit is going to be finding ways to lazily still create engaging and interesting content. I think lazy may be the wrong word, I think efficient may be the better word but lazy jumps out in the title more so fuck it. Anyhow, I started a series of posts on Smoke.IO that I'm going to do everyday and it's called the "SmokeNetwork Weed Fact of the Day". I have a template in Canva which I only have to adjust the date and the fact each day. Visually it's somewhat engaging and is consistant everyday kinda like the Steemit Minute by @reseller . By the way I think he was genius for comming up with the Steemit minute. I don't wanna call what he's doing lazy because it does take a lot of effort but I like how he found a consistant type of content to make and a format for it and he can do it day in and day out and has had a lot of success with it. It's also proven that treating social media kinda like tv and having a schedule actually gets people blocking time or making an effort to stop in and consume content.

Anyhow, here's a couple of my SmokeNetwork Weed Fact of the Day posts. They take me about 2 minutes to do and people seem to like them. Maybe try to find your own way to efficiently make fasat and easy but still quality and engaging content.

Sort:  

I've always tried to keep my posts short from the very beginning of when I first started to blog, which is about 11 years ago. Many people start to drift off when posts are too long, regardless of how good the content may be. If I had a post that I thought was going to be too long, I'd often break it up into a small series of posts.

You have a great point there adn in many ways you were ahead of the curve. It's funny looking back and seeing how cluttered websites used to be and now things are streamlined. How long blog posts used to be and now everything is very short Q&A type stuff ie quora type content. Even full blog posts you have to write differently these days with very short paragraphs and lots of photos and h2 tags because people like info very concisely. Very smart to break up one piece of content into multiple.

Yeah as a Writer I too consider myself a shorter than average composer.

I get what you're saying, buddy. But I like to go by the mantra... Quality over Quantity.

Of course having both is the best case scenario

But I just like to get to my point in a succinct manner !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63185.03
ETH 2478.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70