You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How sustainable is Steemit, and could it afford to keep paying the Haejin's of the Steemit world forever?

in #steemit6 years ago

I like Steemit, however I admittedly probably don't spend as much time following the politics and inner workings of Steemit.

I made a post on Friday, havn't posted it yet, but my thought was that Steeemit is too segregtated in terms of chat, tools, apps, etc.

Just for example @darrylnyk is trying to get Steemit Entreprenuers to connect, he invited me to join a discord group. I told him while I would love to connect with him, I don't spend any time on discord and unfortunately don't really have any intention to. @rawpride had also invited me to join some external chat. @brianphobos had invited me to join a chat group and while I wanted to I havn't gotten around to doing so, I still have a note sitting waiting for me to remind me.

Everyone on Steemit is so segregated, wanna use a voting bot, to go another site, wanna chat, go to another site, wanna upload a video or even consume video, go to another site.

If you notice Facebook has everything all in one place. I don't use FB personally but I can appreciate how they do things. Wanna video call someoen , cool do it on fb, wanna join a group do it on fb, heck even external sites you can login to with FB.

On Steemit there's a huge learning curve in terms of where to do all these different things, outside of just learning the basics of the Steemit platform itself.

Sort:  

I think if people just used Steemit the way others use Medium it would take off, but I think the top whales and spammers are just milking whatever they can before it dies truth be told, and sadly I don't see this experiment called Steemit ending in a good way.

The proof is in the numbers my friend, which thankfully because Steemit is decentralized we can clearly see. The active users have done nothing over the last six months, and the Alexa rank has gone nothing but down.

Social media websites like Facebook and Reddit kept their numbers a secret as they were growing in the beginning, as to not discourage people, but like I said, we actually see the numbers here on Steemit... and they definitely do not look good.

Yeah I definitely see people becomming less active and less interested. Some of my favorite Steemians who used to post 2-4 times per day now only post a few times per week. Some people have gone away completely.

I also find that to be very telling. Some people really surprise me, for example @emmyem84 who I'm a big fan of on here as well as her husband @bradlovesbeer. They were making $10 or $15 per post consistantly after having not even been on here that long and @emmyem84 hasn't been on here in like 17 days. Not trying to call her out or anything like that, I know people have lives and I know she has a business, but when you see someoen having success early on who just kind of abandones it that's very tellign.

I'm sure to some extent it's summer, the weather is nicer, people aren't spending as much time on the computer. I know crypto as a whole is down and a bit boring now so yeah that all plays a role but like you said things aren't looking great for this platform at the moment.

I'm not going anywhere and I know this site isn't going to disapear, but the chances of it overtaking Facebook like so many people like to circle jerk about aren't going to happen.

I've made some friends on here, I enjoy the platform and I already make content as do you so in that sense I think its worth it as a distribution channel but don't really expect to make a killing here or anything like that.

@rulesforrebels...hey Johnny lol,.... I know I haven't been on as much. ..I think that I was just reading a lot of negatives about Steemit and crypto in general and I started doubting it all...... I am still lurking some of the time though :)

Hey @emmyem84 good to see you, missed seeing you and @bradlovesbeer on here. It's not just you guys, even the very very active posters who were doing 3-4 posts per day are down to a couple times per week.

As far as being skeptical, Steem is still at a decent price and you were doing pretty well on here so if I were you I'd milk it while I could and just convert your Steem into Bitcoin and then to cash as opposed to powering up.

I'm actually in power down mode right now. Not because I've completely given up on crypto or even Steemit, but I want to get all of my intial investment out which was probably about $2,000. And also I personally think Ethereum will see better gains than Steem, at leastin the short to midterm future so powering down and puttinga lot of my money into Ethereum, gonna wait for that to get closer to $1,000 and then pull some money out of crypto.

I'm probably going to keep my steem power at around 1000 and then everything over that just turn to Bitcoin or Ethereum.

Do you create any content about your eBay business for a blog or anwyhere outside of Steemit? If so just take 30 seconds to repost here and its basically just an extra distribution channel and a few more bucks for your content.

I'll be the first to admit if steemit was my only thing I probably wouldn't be on here but since I'm already creating for Youtube may as well post it here.

I was really hoping to see you hit your 1,000 goal by August....

https://steemit.com/steemit/@emmyem84/can-i-get-to-my-goal-of-1000-steem-by-august

You are right..... I am going to start posting again. I really want to hit my goal again too. I really had some momentum going for a while. :) I just wrote a post...Thanks for the motivation @rulesforrebels!

never saw it replacing Facebook, but Reddit on the other-hand... well now that's a different story. Although, they have a ton of work to do, and I really don't think the powers that be even give a shit.

Hell, why aren't witnesses putting out ballot changes that we can vote on to get the changes we want. Without any of that Steemit will just die.

Even though I catch myself comparing Steemit to Medium or Blogger slash a Reddit, when I really think about it I don't really get the Reddit comparison.

Reddit has a ton of subreddits so essentially groups, Steemit doesn't have groups. Reddit is also in a sense a Q&A site which encourages people to chatt and come back. I drop a comment, I see someone commented on mine so I come back and coment back. It encourages community and interaction and discussion and Steemit doesn't really have that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.17
ETH 2341.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33