You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Giving Some Recognition to @RobertAndrew

in #steemit6 years ago

Hey skip, fair enough I totally agree with you. Someone can put in good effort on here and maybe what they post about isn't your or my cup of tea. Regardless of whether I'm into a particular type of content I do enjoy seeing more thoughtful and longform content on here as people who are interested in that subjectmatter will hopefully flock here and consume it.

I completely agree that this platform is way too insular in the sense that everything is about crypto or the Steemit platform itself. Somewhat undersandable as this is a crypto platform and most early adopters of Steemit were into crypto but if we want to bring mainstream people and the general populace over here we need more diversity. I do believe the content on medium and youtube and almost any other decent social media site is both more diverse as well as better quality. there's very little here that interests me, on Youtube I watch a lot of documentaries, personal development tapes and business related stuff and there's very little of that on here, add to that the search function is abysmal so finding whatever is here is incredibly tough.

Nobody who's not vested in steem and steemit would ever come here to consume content short of maybe stumbling upon a crypto article, I will say when looking at how to do something cryptowise steemit is often what comes up in google reseults but outside of that nobody would ever be like I'm going to come over here and spend an hour because its entertaining and that's steemits biggest problem. even people like myself and im guessing you who are already on and engaged in this platform come here to play the game and earn our steem, not because we genuinely enjoy it here, i can honestly say that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75