How Many Social Media Platforms Do You Use? How Many Can One Person Effectively Manage?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

How Many Social Media Platforms Are You On?

socialmedia.jpg

Over the years I've played around on almost every social media platform from Youtube, Reddit, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter, and others. I would say consistantly Youtube and Reddit have probably been my favorites.

I was really excited when I first heard about Steemit recently, and it occured to me I want to be a part of this awesome site and project, but I also need to figure out how to effectively balance my time, especially seeing as how I'm going to be spending a lot of time on here.. I think that's something we should all do at least once a year is basically a social media audit.

I think this basically consists of looking at what platforms your involved with? Which of those are you actually getting traction on or actually forming relationships with likeminded people on? And if your a marketer or into e-Commerce or whatever else, which are actually returning your efforts with sales or traffic or whatever it is your on there for? When doing this keep in mind the 80/20 rule. Something I notice is I've spent a lot of time on platforms like Twitter and Pinterest and others thinking "I should" be doing that, when in reality not many of my target audience is on there, nor do I really get any enjoyment or anything out of the platform so why waste any time on it. That time could be better spent on the social platforms I enjoy engaging on and have better results with.

I'm curious to hear from you guys. I notice a lot of Youtubers or Social INfluencers who are huge on pretty much every platform from Youtube to Instagram to Snapchat to Twitter. While I can do that for maybe a few weeks at a time or maybe even a few months eventually I burn out and stop everything all together.

It recently occured to me I'd rather be great at a couple than half ass a dozen of them. My time moving forward I'm planning on spending on continuing Youtube as I've gotten some traction on there and have a great community and a lot of friends on there was well as here on Steemit, and then I also enjoy Reddit as well.

Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram are probably going on the backburner. I may setup IFTT to autopost to them but I'm not really going to be trying to have a significant presence on there.

I'm curious from you guys, how many social media platforms are you active on? How many do you think you can truly effectively manage and by manage I don't mean autoposting or making one comment a week. I'm talking about actually building relationships on there and really being part of the community?

Sort:  

I also like reddit and Youtube. I want to thank you for getting me in to steemit I'm already building a small fanbase and I'm growing each day.

Hey Kool, you got a new fan buddy just followed you. Just took a look at your account, your killing it man cranking out a lot of great content. Awesome to see you on here!!!

Thanks. I've been watching your vids for while ever since you made the dropshipping videos and then you started taking about steemit and I had to start doing it.

I'm currently active on Instagram, Facebook, twitter, and now Steemit. Instagram has been my main one for the past couple of years, but each platform serves a different purpose for me. I currently have over 1 million followers across all of them.

I always suggest to become strong in one and then work on transitioning your followers over to your next favorite platform. It's hard to chase too many rabbits if you are just doing it yourself, so you have to pick which one you want to really master first.

Here's what I like about each...

Facebook - you can develop more personal relationships and the targeting for ads is great for businesses

Instagram - has the best engagement and can quickly deliver a lot of high volume traffic in a short period of time. Influencer marketing on here is huge right now.

Twitter - I like to share articles on twitter, because you can get a lot more retweet (shares) than some of the other platforms that suppress posting links. A lot of people in the news and media are on twitter, so it's a great platform to connect with them on.

Youtube - it's the second largest search engine behind google right now. Whatever content you put on youtube stays forever and can give you great search results over time.

Those are the platforms I use and how I use them. Hope this helps!

Wow man your killing it!!! My biggest one is Youtube, I'm far from as big as many guys out there but pretty proud of my 55k subs, especially within the niche I'm in. I like that strategy grow really large on one, master it, and then slowly bring those followers or subscribers over to the next platform.

55k subscribers is huge! What niche are you in? I tried doing too many things at once a while back and it slowed my growth, so I just focused on one until I got big enough where momentum took over. Now I'm gradually doing more across different channels.

Yeah to me 55k is pretty huge for me, especially imho considering my niche. That said I saw there's some 12 year old kid who was doing fake giveaways and had like millions of subs in a month and I know some guys who do prank channels and stuff and rack up millions pretty quickly but the way I see it only a small percentage of the population is interested in entrepreneurship period and among those people there's a lot of people to follow so I'm super psyched to have the following I have. I also have to say I have one of the best most supportive audiences out there who I'm super grateful to so I have no complaints. That said a business/entrepreneurship/self improvement type channel is only ever going to get so big but accept that.

I like your idea there, someone else had mentioned grow a large following on one platform that suits your strengths and that makes the most sense for you and then slowly try to get that audience to migrate over and follow you over to the next platform. I think thats a good strategy.

I think most people seem to say maybe 3-4 platform is the most someone can really manage well and personally for me I think it's probably more like 1-2 platforms.

Yea it get's to be a lot to handle. I kept it to just 1-2 for a couple years until now, I'm expanding more.

@rulesforrebels Just join STEEM today, thanks for the up votes!

I mainly like YouTube and Steemit. If I was able to be a full time content creator I could see being on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook mainly to funnel people to YouTube and Steemit but for all practical purposes I'm just on YouTube and Steemit. Here is what Steemians think about Snapchat.
50-and-picard.gif

I never got into Snapchat, the only appeal to me is apparently a lot of nudes get sent around but outside of that not really for me lol, jk. Seriously though I downloaded it for a few days, didn't really like it or get it. Also since things are temporary all your content basically disapears within 24 hours right? I personally prefer building more of a longterm presence.

Yeah.... I sort of had a same experience with Snapchat. I had a lot of girls telling me to get it. I got it and didn't think it was intuitive and didn't see a ton of value in it. To me if I'm going to take a short video of myself saying something it makes more sense for it to be on something like Instagram where it could live longer. 24 hours is a joke.
I seriously think that Snapchat will be around for a couple more years and suddenly be gone kind of like Vine. And all those people who built big followings out there will be vaporized. LOL

My girlfriend and her family love Snapchat but like you I don't get it. Your comment kind of got me thinking. I think this is what Snapchat is, as far as business use or value for me it's next to nothing. As far as a communication tool between friends if you want to show your friend the tacos your eating its sorta cool I guess. I dont see enough value to even download it but I will admit my girlfriend is always shoving her phone in my face making me watch her sisters snapchat story and its normally her meals for the day and occasionally she'll snap the person next to her at a stoplight picking their nose or something but thats about it lol

A bit off topic but I'm still a bit confused looking at my wallet. So is the figure in the brackets such as (27.573) is that my pending payment? I see that for Steem Power and Steem Dollars. Also, I know were basically paid out every 7 days right? Is that a particular day of the week like everyone gets paid on Tuesday or is it dependent upon when you joined?

I'm sure there's some posts about this but you really do a great job of explaining things in a very clear way. If your up for it I'd love to see you make a post kind of breaking this down and maybe even touching on how to transfer Steem to Steem Dollars, etc. Earlier today I bought some Steem and transfered it to SBD in order to promote a post, just trying to figure out how to do everything. I finally got it done but took me a while of fumbling around.

Congratulations @rulesforrebels! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49