Seaching for a Search Alternative

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

home_office_workstation_office_business_notebook_macbook_air_portable_device_computer-1338927.jpg!d.jpg

Today I tested the results for my Steemit post with two search engines.

Last week I did a series of Steemit posts featuring my interview with guitarist Ronny Jordan. After the final post, I consolidated the four posts into a single interview which was published on the Web's most popular jazz website.

Test: I closed my Firefox browser, ran CCleaner, and changed my VPN IP.

Serached for: ronny jordan, interview
Filter: one month

Using the Big "G"

ronny jordan google.JPG

Result

As you can see above, my AllAboutJazz article is the top result, but my Steemit posts are not included. I then included the search term "steemit" and even after that nothing! (Tip of the hat to @kingsboy from steemkr.com, at least he made it into the search results.)

It almost seems as if the results were being surpressed.


I'm not a robot

Because I use a VPN at times, the Big "G" occasionally makes me prove I'm not a robot. You know the drill, which photos have store fronts (automobiles, street signs). At times it can be terribly tedious.

So I decided to give the little guy DuckDuckGo a try. I had used it a while ago, but fell back into the trap of using the Big "G".

DuckDuckGo.com


ronny jordan duckduckgo.JPG

Result :-) As you can see above, perfect. Two of my steemit posts are included, and also my AllAboutJazz article. Based on my tiny test I conclude that DuckDuckGo is steemit friendly.


I would love comments which contain your own tests with your last steemit posts. Big "G" vs DuckDuckGo. Remember to first clear your browser and use incognito orprivate window, otherwiser you are likely to get tailored results.


duckduckgo1.JPG

duck2.JPG

duck3.JPG


link to a Wikipedia article which explains DuckDuckgo



Lead photo is from pxhere, free use, effects & text by @roused
Animated gif is from gfycat
Screen captures from DuckDuckGo

Sort:  

I wrote a few days ago duckduckgo Turkish tutorial:) Smart search(!bang) is very nice in DuckDuckGo 👍🏽

Let's hope DuckDuckGo and Steemit both prosper together. Like @shortcut I will use Big "G" for maps and translations, but DuckDuckGo for regular searches.

!bang doesn't seem especially intuitive to me, but based your your recommendation I'll give it another try.

Oneday all of us need privacy! That's why all cyrpto are valuable for being anda staying free😉

Interesting research!
I almost always use the duck-engine these days.

This are the results I get from a private search (without vpn):

duck duck go:
jordan_duck.png

g00gle:
jordan_g.png

Maybe you got different results, because you use a different browser and OS or the VPN isn't located in Germany.

I always found the g00gle ranking for Steemit posts insane, which is another argument for using Steemit to promote your own website :-)

Did you also filter for "past month"? If not, that could be part of the difference. But it is interesting that you did get a steemit result.

Also, before I did the test I closed my browser and cleaned with CCleaner.

Someone else mentioned to me that even in private window your results can be tailored from Big "G".

In any case, I'm going to follow your lead and use duckduckgo as my primary search engine.

You are right! I forgot to filter the search for "last month", because I seldom restrict my search that way. If I do it, your steemit posts on G00gle also disappear. Just one curation post at place #18.

Great to see you making the switch! I really got used to using the duck since I made it my default search engine. I only use it for maps & translate sometimes and do not really miss it since.

I wonder why Google is suppressing Steemit results....

It would be good to see other peoples' results, to judge fairly, but I did find it strange that even using the "Steemit" search term I couldn't find my post --- hmmm.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82