This Is Why Steem Is Doomed

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Nowadays, you can make money out of thin air thanks to Steemit. Don't believe me?
Just write a tree to four sentence post, add a picture and a link. You don't even need to put relevant tags or answer to any comments. All you have to do is just pay a couple of SBD to the upvoting bots, and there you have it.
https://steemit.com/bitcoins/@the.collector/what-you-should-know-about-bitcoins-surge-in-value
Now repeat​ this exercise until​ there is no more money left on the platform and you feed all the whales.
Steem on!

Sort:  

Wow. That is absolutely ridiculous.

Flagged, though I don't have enough weight to make much of a dent in that one. You're write that this could kill the platform. If this keeps up we may need to fork out whales who support that sort of voting bot. It's horribly shortsighted that they aren't protecting their investment by trying to build a sustainable community.

^This. Agree 💯 % but not sure about the solution. Not sure how forking whales out would look but the rampant vote buying and self-voting has served as a deterrent to investing further. It's a wonder that they haven't done something about it yet and I really wonder how it affects attrition when newcomers observe it. I can to Steem thinking if I worked hard to create quality content that I would be rewarded but it turns out the mechanics are a bit more questionable. I've pretty much reached a point of disillusionment but maybe it is discussion like this perhaps being observed by the powers that be that may help to influence or change.

If there were more really curators on the platform they will be incentivized​ to flag malicious​ behaveur. Forking is a little drastic, but if nothing works, then why not.

It is what it is I suppose. I've had my fun here but overall there is an overabundance of wasted bandwidth that floods the platform

Although there are many great authors, the quality of curation on the platform is disappointing.

I will write tree to 4 posts. In all seriousness though, your right. Oh my god that post made $86 in Steem Dollars. Oh god. Oooooooooh god.... @OrigninalWorks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76