How I lost and found 100 SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Something happened to me the other day that I did not expect at all. I have lost 100 Steem by accident. Instead of sending them to the @poloniex account I mistakenly wrote the address by hand and mixed it up, sending the Steem to @poloneix. After I realized what I have done I was pissed at myself. I've read so many times from other users always to check the addresses and yet again I fell in my own trap.

dfggdfgdfg-10.55.32.jpg
I thought to myself: what a great idea, create a similar sounding account and collect money from losers like me. Just like in real life I didn't expect someone to knock on my door and return my wallet. So I lost 100 liquid steem, just as the price was jumping above $0.20!
Yesterday to my surprise the person holding the account returned all my Steem back. What's more, I actually sold them for even more money. I don't know who holds this account, but I'm very grateful. Normally if you lose​ some money over the web, they are lost forever. Let alone crypto money.
It looks like Steemit is really more for the community​ and less for the money.

Sort:  

The Steemit UI needs to separate sending to an exchange from sending to other users.

When you send to an exchange, there should be a set list in a dropdown box. There's only a small list to maintain and it will never be more than a few hundred even if Steem explodes.

Even when sending to fellow users, it should first prompt you with suggestions (such as your follow list) before you ever type anything in.

Expecting people to type in addresses is just asking for trouble, especially when there's no checksum equivalent.

Totally​ agree. People tend to make mistakes. This will be a nice feature.

There are still good people around! That is great to hear! Super super super!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83