Are Multiple Accounts On Steemit OK?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I can see how having multiple accounts is a great way to dedicate an account on only one subject. This could be a brand, some kind of media or any other way of promoting your personal or collaborative content. And it has nothing to do with your personal life, regarding what you would blog about in your personal account. For instance, I have half a dozen pages I manage on Facebook. I have one for my firm, one as a music artist, and a couple where I collaborate with other people under one brand. That is a great way to connect with people of similar interests and create online presence. On Steemit there are also lots of guilds where people come together and manage an account. So asking the question are multiple account on Steemit OK a little irrelevant. It's inevitable.

It's not a big surprise that, inevitably people abuse a system when they can. A person with multiple accounts can invest a large amount of money in all of them and drain the system just by upvoting his posts. And yes, there are people here on Steemit who do exactly that. I remember when steem price was up and some posts made thousand of dollars of junk, containing virtually nothing in quality or content. They don't really care about the community or Steemit at all, they are just after profit. Taking measures on this case is again inevitable.

I'm not really sure what to make of this situation, but I'm sure that sooner or later there will be consequences. What kind of consequences depends on how we act when the platform is still developing.
For me, I would like to have the opportunity to create different steem feeds, all contributing steem to my main account.

Sort:  

It's not a big surprise that, inevitably people abuse a system when they can. A person with multiple accounts can invest a large amount of money in all of them and drain the system just by upvoting his posts.

this is correct, but the multiple accounts are irrelevant. There is no advantage, in terms of SP and payout for a vote, in having the SP split among many accounts.

Multiple accounts are necessary for mining, which is why you see some people with a ton of accounts.

You are allowed to create as many accounts as you want, but you are only supposed to get one 'free' one - where Steemit pays your account creation fee.

Having multiple accounts does not give you an advantage of rewards though. If you have 10 accounts with 500 SP each, or one account with 5,000 SP - your upvote(s) are worth exactly the same amount of rewards in both cases.

can I create many account in steemit?

Yes, although you only get one 'free' account - where the creation fee is paid for by Steemit, Inc. If you want additional accounts there are several services listed in the FAQ that will allow you to pay for them.

Hey @rossenpavlov You think, you are a multi-dimensional personality just like me. I also like photography, blogging, designing, marketing, etc. I know the importance of building an audience or a community, if we stick to a one niche we get better engagement.

I think, if it would be allowed on Steemit, many people will misuse it unless there are rules and regulations to keep the process stable.

Thanks :)

I agree, thank you.

Thanks for the post.

Hmmm...

It seems nearly inevitable that if people are able to make multiple accounts without oversight, it will result in corruption. One powerful account can repeatedly upvote another, and if they're sneaky enough (making feasible looking posts), over the course of a few months, that person could have multiple powerful accounts, until it's an upward spiral of power and abuse.

On the flip side - if the community is able to identify bad actors early on and use the flag system or other methods to counteract upvote spam, perhaps that is a line of defense? I'm not sure how that would play out.

I don't think there is any reasonable way to keep someone from making multiple accounts. However, I'm sure some bot or algorithm could be put in place that recognized certain abusive patterns.

I think it's very easy to stop this "corruption" that are you talking about by linking all accounts to the main one without necessarily to be public, like facebook pages... And the vote made impossible between own accounts or irrelevant to SP/revenue.

This ^^^.I would like to have a cryptocurrency education only account and one for my other passions, art and entrepreneurship. Just like other platforms, having too many subjects mashed up under one account makes a mess of things, and harder for people to follow only the content they wish to see.... unless there is a way to follow only hashtags under a person's umbrella profile.

With private balances and other things coming, there will be less of a need to create a 2nd account. However there is nothing stopping you from doing so.

"I am a painter. And judging by my blog rewards I should just stick to painting. No more photo challenges or comments on stuff not related to painting." ~This is my Bio.
If I venture away from a painting and a few words about how to paint . . . then I get crickets.
If I continue to speak out about issues then, I fear that even my paintings will be ignored.
I think that either just paint or have another account to post my writing.
In any event, I should not post poetry.

well said! I had no idea to be concentrated on one point and related stuff.. I have only one account but i do a mistake , that is , i post different things which may effect my account power.. #thanks for the tip.

I think it would nice if our personal feeds had sections we could control how many what they were called.

Could have a link going to Food posts or Art posts or Opinion or whatever was posted on that feed. That way they old posts don't get completely forgotten over time.

Then Steempower can remain consolidated rather scattered over a few accounts.

YES i was having this exact same thought

who has time to manage multiple accounts and remember all those damn passwords?! I know I dont

There are about 5k active users and about 110k registered accounts... calculate a probable multi account use having these numbers in mind!

For the misuse issue:
Sure you can upvote yourself, but you need SP to do that.
Do some more math and there is nearly no possibility to get out the money you have to invest (to the community) in a way that makes the slightest economical sense.
Either you have to gamble with the steemprice OR you have to do A LOT of curation additionally to your selfvoting to get near a good interest rate.

BTW: dan has multiple accounts, berniesanders has multiple accounts, ned has multiple accounts. There are people with whole bot armies here. @anonsteem can even make you new accounts by paying him BTC (so there is no abuse in the free steem you get by creating an account)

:) nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36