Steemit Milestone #5: Heart of a Utopian Moderator/ 第5个月在 Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit Friends,

I joined Steemit on August 16, 2017, so today marks the end of the 5th month on Steemit. I will share with all my Steemit followers what I had been doing in the past month (December to January) crossing into the New Year 2018.

5Month.png

In this past month of Steemit, I had not been able to share more of my travel photos as I would like to. The reason is that I was very busy doing moderation work at Utopian that I hardly had much time to even contribute with Tutorials and video Tutorials, my two favorite categories in Utopian.

During the Christmas and New Year's holidays, there were increasing loads of contribution. I suppose people had more time to contribute during the holiday season, so incoming posts were coming in every minute of the day. That is really quite something. As a result, many posts were backlogged in the Utopian feed creating a big traffic jam, so as moderators, we spent time morning and night reviewing each post, often late into the night taking away our sleeping time. I was actually at my computer doing reviews during the Count down to 2018.

utopian70.jpg

The traffic was mainly in the translation category taking up 72% of the big pie in Utopian. But some users got so impatient and think that it was abusive that moderators did not come to review their posts within 24 hours. This simply is not true as many moderators like me did not even have our holidays during those days. We were stuck at the computer and worked hard around the clock, not because we would get overtime reward which we didn't, but we just wanted to clean up the feed. The situation needed to be solved by bringing in more moderators to take care of the Turkish and Indonesian languages. I mainly looked after the Chinese section and would also help out in other languages as I also know other languages quite well.

Utopian has a good vision that deeply strikes a chord in many of our hearts. This is the reason why I contribute my work to Utopian and for the last 2 months to offer my service as a moderator. In this 5th month on Steemit, I spent a lot of time helping Utopian users to post high quality posts with their contributions so that they get their posts approved. We often spend extra time outlining to users what they need to do in the comment area and also in private conversation that takes up a big bulk of our precious time. They are happy when they get high rewards, but when they don't, they come back and hassle us, throw words at us and call us all kinds of name to hurt us. Such outrageous behavior is hard to believe. This is where I start questioning what kind of users we have at Utopian.

When I first joined Utopian, I was just a user contributing my work. We all work hard because we want Utopian platform to work and shine. In the first month, I only contributed in my areas of expertise. I also made a lot of mistakes not knowing Utopian rules and had about 1/3 of my contribution rejected. And the Utopian moderators are always trying to be helpful to show me what I needed to do.

20171110e.jpg

This is how I learn to become better and better to submit my posts even in 'boring' translation.


In the last 2 weeks, @elear wrote explicitly what the Utopian rules are. They are all outlined very clearly here: https://utopian.io/rules

All moderators are to know these rules by heart as we do all the posts reviews. Not respecting one or more of the rules will lead to direct immediate rejection of contribution.

So it is also up to the Utopian users responsibility to read up on all these rules so that they can get their posts approved. Getting approval cannot be demanded just because they are submitted. They need to step back and look at their contributions to see if they are of quality to meet the requirements.

In the past month, I've seen people submitting contributions with multiple accounts to get Utopian rewards. This actually can lead to life time banning and is not acceptable. I write this with a heavy heart so that Utopian users MUST abide to rules before life time banning comes into effect for them.

The blockchain doesn't lie.

What is written there is recorded forever. You can see it for yourself.

What is edited and re-edited is also recorded. Even if a person wants to remove his tracks, the footprints are there in the blockchain so there is no way to cover one's mistakes to hide their hypocrisy. It becomes a joke when multiple accounts are used to translating multiple languages like French, Japanese, Russian.... languages that the person does not even speak. Utopian is not rewarding a machine to do translation.

huizhao.jpg


tranquilpoem.jpg


So this is what I have been busy doing in my 5th Month on Steemit. On top of moderating hundreds of reviews, we need to handle many users violating Utopian rules. This makes the moderating work very unpleasant. All of a sudden, darts are fired at us calling us "nonsense" and "garbage" for doing our work properly. This just happened at the crack of dawn this morning as I was preparing to write my 5th month milestone.


My Conclusion on this 5th Month in Steemit:

I dedicated most of time to Utopian serving as a Moderator on this 5th Month on Steemit. I want to share this conclusion. I believe that all rewards given by Utopian is 'EXTRA'. We cannot demand it. If we do quality work, Utopian will reward you according to its rules because you deserve it. If Utopian does not reward you, then you need to examine your mistakes and find ways to do better quality contributions.

There are many ways to contribute to Utopian. We can always help out answering questions in the Discord channel. We can also delegate SP to support Utopian work. This is what I do and what many Steemit users are doing. We are very thankful for Steemians like @freedom @misterdelegation @ned @transisto .... and many others who generously support the Utopian platform. You can do the same too.

Thank you for reading this,
Rosa
@rosatravels

If you like this, please upvote, resteem or comment. I look forward to hear from you.

Sort:  

Hey @rosatravels. I remember the first day you joined in our team.. That day i met you. Your hardwork, your kindness, your detailed reviews grown utopian and bring into this position with other members of the team. Im happy that i know you and wish you the best.

Thank you for your kind words @omeratagun. It was great working with you but sad to see you leave our team but great to see you taking up the supervisor role!

Resteemed

As a supervisor that spent up to 10 hours a day reviewing and supervising over all of you fantastic moderators during that time, I gotta say you were of much help. Thank you for your hard work, hopefully you stay a part of our team <3.

Yes! Thank you @jestermkioskiem. Onward we go in Utopian. You are doing great work moving Utopian forward these days.

Wow rosa you are very hard work ! I am glad you success in steemit! Thanks for you my friend you always help me! Resteem!

Thank you @yandot. We move forward together.

You are one of the most hard working moderators.
God bless you!

Thanks @syedumair. We all work hard together to move forward.

You got a 4.95% upvote from @upme requested by: @rosatravels.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Well @rosatravels, aside from people giving you moderators a hardctime there are also people who appreciate all the hard work! I am certainly one of them.

Thank you @hatsekidee for these encouraging words. We are all in it together.

Very nic post

Thank you.

Wow congrats. I have only been on steemit for 2 weeks. Could you please support me :))))

I became a negative teaching material.....
Suggest that everyone abide by the rules, rules are the basis for maintaining development....
People can make mistakes, but constantly making the same mistake is not good...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53