You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seriously, STEEMIT? No 2FA? That's so last century...by which I mean last century plus a few decades ago

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

In my opinion 2FA or Google authenticator is still not really totally secure or perfectly secure.

I guess 2FA or Google Authenticator is an old stuff. Technology is evolving rapidly. Many people are using these security feature. Are those websites with 2FA or google authenticator uses blockchain technology? Even blockchain technology can also be compromised in my opinion. See the history of Ethereum for example and other cryptocurrencies. All websites are prone to cyber attacks. Even people or places are attacked in many ways.

In every website there's a guideline on how to secure accounts. I guess this is the first we have to look at before anything else.

Here on steemit, there is a guideline for maximum security. Still maximum is not perfect in any sense. But at least we've done our best to do everything to at least secure our accounts the best that we could, especially if we put something into it that are valuable, that we all know are money and time.

Maybe you could also read this post from @jerrybanfield

The Steemit Account Security Tutorial June 2017

Sort:  

Thanks for the link. Since I'm a n00b, I don't have a large account balance yet on steemit, but I can see how that could change in the future. I never really thought much about locking down my BTC until the price went through the roof and suddenly I couldn't buy a hardware wallet fast enough.

I don't think that any system is going to have perfect security, but you can make yourself less of a target by putting a little extra security in place. Do you remember THE CLUB, that steering wheel lock you could put on your car?

Sure, someone with a lot of time and a hacksaw would have no problem stealing your car, but why would they do that when there's a car parked right next to yours that doesn't have a steering wheel lock on it?

By the same logic, why bother hacking all the accounts with 2FA when there are a ton more accounts that don't have it enabled that are easier to hack? It's not perfect security by a long shot, but it's a deterrent.

image courtesy of winner-intl.com

Yeah!
Perfect!
Brilliant explanation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55049.50
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30