Goodbye, this site is dumb

in #steemit6 years ago

I haven't been posting here a lot and I really kind of forgot about it, but I wanted to make one final post.

This site is dumb. I could try to delete my account, but this is easier and maybe a few people coming across this post will be more valuable than that not happening.

Since I joined Steemit months ago, I've changed the way I feel about Bitcoin and these other altcoins and "blockchain" projects. Don't get me wrong, Bitcoin is awesome and I am so bullish about the future of humanity because of Bitcoin. But all of these other "crypto" projects are stupid if not outright scams.

Go out and create and build and do things that move us away from the control of governments, central banks, unsound money, etc. But don't be some high time preference schlub who would rather mortgage the long term sustainability a project by building a crummy, not-government-hard platform instead of building on top of Bitcoin, which of course takes longer. The former is a get rich quick scheme while the latter actually takes considerable work without the instant gratification.

I wish I didn't waste my time here, but I don't regret the learning experience. Instead of trying to squeeze dumb tokens out of this site, go read something like "The Bitcoin Standard" by Saifedean Ammous to free yourself from the clutches of high time preference-inducing government fiat.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rollomcfloogle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56652.41
ETH 2407.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33