Sort:  

It would seem that no industry or ecosystem is immune to automation. The winds of change are blowing hard, and we're coming along for the ride whether we like it or not.

LOL mate for me this ratio is same but reversed :)

Being the non-bot that I am, a lot of this resonates with me.

Currently, I don't really feel strongly either way about the bots. Part of me believes they have a place and utility but at the same time this is a social network and they should be at the fringes of the system, not dominating it. If they start to play to big a role, it will likely be pretty detrimental to this blockchain experiment of ours.

All that aside, I most enjoyed the last bit of your article. The recognition that this really is something special that we are getting to experiment and participate in.

This sentence just kills it though.

But, we may never know the ripple effects of what we put out, or in what ways our heart-filled sharing might inspire others...

We never know how far our impact on others goes, but it's always farther than we'd imagine.

Keep posting the good stuff and I'll keep appreciating it!

I sometimes have posts with more comments than views, which is truly bizarre. I suspect the system may be low balling the view number in some way...

It can be frustrating to get such a low view count, but as you say, at least we are blessed to be early adopters here and to be able to earn Steem rewards such as we do.

Most likely you are receiving comments from comment bots or when users don't see the "full context" but reply to a reply...

Maybe @nnnarvaez can shed some light for me here ?

Still waiting for the #HeyMattCoin and ICO!!!!

haha one of these days barry!! I need to be more famous first. maybe I can get a Floyd Mayweather endorsement :-)

Touche, well played Matthew

lol

+1 man

This should be addressed to make steemit a healthy site for us content creators. We need to have a policy of having to skim atleast the contents of the blog before upvoting. That's the real essence of the steem blockchain isn't it?

Mmm, I'm outlawing bots altogether would be a great move. They do have a time and place, have served the growth of this community, and doing away with them might not be as conducive as arguments could be presented for...

I've been wondering about the voting bots, like how to get on a list. LOL
But seriously, I haven't delegated my voting to a bot for 2 reasons, I don't have enough voting power for that to work reasonably well yet, and I like to read what I'm voting on. I don't know if a post is worth a vote until I look at it. There have been several posts that I've looked at but didn't vote on for one reason or another. If I automate my voting, I don't have that kind of control, I could be voting for pure crap and I wouldn't know it.

I see what you mean - 57 votes on this, 18 views.

I try to always at least skim a post if I give it an upvote.

This is an interesting conundrum that is a part of the evolution of our society right now. Where does my value lie and how do I perceive my value? I have many things I can point to as my "contribution" but those are primarily non-monetary, ie. being a father, a husband, a kind human. When I see the ratio of views to votes on some of my posts, it makes me feel a bit frustrated as you have very accurately pointed out, but that metric is just one of the many we can use.

I have a very dualistic view on the bots. They are both good and bad and it depends on the intent. They can be used for good and bad and I hope the good intentions win out but history does not give a bright view of our future given human involvement. Like you say it is the ripple effect and we never know who our words may inspire.

This platform has given me the reason to finally restart writing in general. It always lies there in the back of my head, but now I have a place to put the writing that gives a tangible response. Even if it is bots, at this point it is part of what helps keep me typing and spewing forth the thoughts within my head. If someone is able to learn, grow, or a forced to think from my words then I feel that they have served their purpose.

Excellently stated.

Bots and Steemit automation are a curse and a blessing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80