Steemit hard fork information

in #steemit8 years ago

Starting 26-JUL-2016, you might see a little less frequency in posts from individual users posting by throwing everything at the wall and seeing what sticks. Why? Because the reward structure is going to be adjusted so that such behavior reduces payouts.

The release description on GitHub reads:
Each root level comment has a reward weight which impacts the end payout of the post. We are targeting 4 posts in 24 hours. Your first 4 posts in 24 hours will not be penalized. After that, they weight is decreased from 100% based on your average posting frequency. Having a frequency just barely higher than 1 every 6 hours will have very little impact, while spamming will be penalized heavily. This change is aimed to increase the quality of content at the cost of quantity.

Essentially the rewards will be adjusted based on post frequency, with a payout curve that resembles the following:

This will allow a user to burst a few posts without penalty, but then as posts continue to be excessive, the rewards will be decreased.

What do you think?

How do you think this will impact the community? Is this a positive or negative change?

Refreshing the following post by @lurker1
https://steemit.com/steem/@lurker1/steem-hard-fork-coming-july-26-to-tackle-bot-comment-spam

So there is a more recent post regarding today/yesterday's fork.

~ all sbd this post may earn will be sent to @lurker1.

Sort:  

Does a post EDIT count as a new post that goes towards that total of 4 before penalization?
I had a hell of a drop in payout today for a $1250 post that only paid out $143.
I edited my post a handful of times throughout the course of the day since it was originally posted, and I made only 2 or 3 other posts.
I'm a perfectionist, probably should've had it ironed out before I posted, but I wasn't aware of this or I would've made a point to have it 100% proofread first.

I've seen that happen, unsure if whales pulled votes or if it is as you said.

No unvotes or downvotes are visible in my steemd.com/@winstonwolfe information. :-/

There was one upvote/un-vote by @berniesanders , though.
However, that happened on a comment I made on someone else's post, and long after the payout occurred for my post.

I've discovered something with @winstonwolfe that I never would have without reading this. So thank you for your write.

When we "edit" our posts it counts against us as a post not as an edit. If we make a crap ton of edits to a post, after we submit it, we'll essentially decrease our payout in the end because/if we've surpassed the limited amount of posts before penalty.

If we want to give people the ability to edit without being penalized, my recommendation would be to remove the function that bumps that post back to the top of Active when it gets edited.

That would make sense. Editing isn't new activity, it's just modifying the product of past activity.

bring on the graph!!! nice touch.

That's great! I'm new here what's bot spam

I think this is a good experiment. If it slows down spam and doesn't inhibit creativity, I am all for it.

This is certainly an interesting initiative, and it's great to see it in visual form.

I think this will definitely stop a spate of junk and spam posts. To those who post more than 4-5 genuine posts a day, it's perhaps time to focus on quality over quantity anyway.

All in all, a win-win. Will be really interesting to see its effect in the coming weeks.

wow amazing, good work

Great info, one question - does a reply to a blog count as a "post"?

I havnt felt any diminishing rewards regarding comments.

Proof of payment to lurker1

I think this will help with people not spamming and all, but let's hope the newbies coming in know about this.. so they don't try it and leave because they don't know why they aren't making any money :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61006.67
ETH 2417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61