You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit: chasing upvotes, not community+stories will send us all down the drain

in #steemit8 years ago

Right on. I've been a pretty strong advocate of the platform since it first came out. I saw it as an awesome way to make some money doing things I already do (namely browse and post on Reddit all day). I got some Steem, even if not a ton of money. As the ability to make money seemed to get more and more concentrated, I started to shift towards more community engagement/involvement. I've come to realize we're missing a very basic mechanic of content discovery. When you sign in you're met with a list of everything that gets submitted to the site with no way to aggregate a feed of the kind of content you're interested in. The lack of ability to subscribe to tags/topics you're interested in makes finding things you (and your readers) are interested in a lot more difficult than it should. At this point its almost up to luck for a new user to find your content. It also discourages me from spending a lot of time browsing the site because I have to wade through the whole feed to find content I'm interested in. Sure, I can just go look at my feed, but that's by author, not topic. If someone in my feed writes something I'm not interested in it "clogs" my feed and if a new user writes something I'd read, and I'm not following them, I need to hope I come across it.

I think Steemit has a whole lot of potential, but I feel this content discovery mechanism will just become more and more important as people sign up and make posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30