I'm considering selling my private keys...

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

At a discount for the going rate, of course. Would anyone have interest in this?

I've currently got 4,586 SP, .071 SD and 0 liquid Steem.

Edit: With this I'd need to find out if I can prevent the buyer from using my name to make posts and comments.






I've declined any form of payout on this post.

Sort:  

What is your reason for selling? I've been feeling disillusioned lately, trying very hard to talk myself out of it. But my misgivings have been getting the best of me. I'm curious if others feel the same way.

There are a couple of reasons. For one, I find the site very difficult to enjoy (not being able to follow topics instead of people kinda kills it for me). Another is I have a power down running and I usually take the weekly Steem payment and send it to Poloniex or ShapeShift and exchange to BTC, but I'd rather not be someone who aids to the negative movement of the value with this. Also, I have an old loan (twelve years now) which I'm getting very close to paying off and at this point I'm willing to sell off my account and it's possible future benefits for the sake of finally paying this off.

It's not so much that I'm disillusioned about the site, I may have been at some point but I've moved to the point of indifference now. I'd rather not be any kind of drain on the Steem/Steemit community since I have no specific distaste for it.

1

I'm not really sure what your post has to do with my question, could you explain why you feel it's relevant? I haven't tried to make money off of posts in a while. Perhaps you feel no one would be interested in my account because the only value it would hold is for people to use it to make money with posts?

Of course, the offer would only be worthwhile if Steem doesn't continue to fall down below our agreed price.

Edit: I just realized this may sound much more "aggressive" than I mean it to be. I did not mean my first sentence in a jerkish way at all.

Hahaha, no problem. I appreciate the honesty.

Not sure it's possible. How you can ensure buyer that you forget private key?

I don't know. That's part of the concern that I had. I was assuming I could change the password to my account at steemit and hand over those credentials, but I don't want someone posting in my name. Besides, as you said, there's no guarantee to the buyer I wouldn't be holding on to the master key.

I guess it simply doesn't work to hand over a wallet key, I'd just have to sell off the Steem itself if I wanted to do it that badly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33