You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Suggestion to Fixing the Promote Feature (Let's Make SBD Burning Great Again)

in #steemit6 years ago

Okay, I really had to think about this one and check what's in the promoted tab at this time.

A general thought about burning SBD. While I agree this is beneficial for everybody it also depends on the amount that gets burned in total.
As long as we're creating faster than we're burning, we will keep the same problems with the value.
This would not be an issue if there is a fixed final amount because at one time you would reach that threshold, but with an unlimited amount, which I think is the case for Steem, we need other incentives to burn large quantities and making it worthwhile for people.

Now, back to you;
To be very honest, I hardly ever check the promoted tab, but the same is true for Trending and Hot. I do occasionally check the New tab.

Trending, Hot and Promoted to me are vanity tabs, you get there because you are already successfull, and you can buy your way onto this tab. Or you already have a large follower base, lifting you into those stratospheres automatically. This makes them completely useless.

There is something strange with these tabs, how is the ranking decided?
Looking at the Promoted tab, I see posts with a value of over $290, with 818 votes, and at the same time, 4 down, a post with a value of just over $12, with 1830 votes.
And below that a post with a value of $81,50, with 84 votes.

This is the reason these tabs don't work, it just makes no sense.
Why would I pay, if I pay and are still number 200 in the list, I wasted money.

I think the only way to resolve the issues is to get rid of these useless tabs and introduce proper language support, and communities.

That's still not a definitive solution, but let me think about that ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31