From Quora to Steemit - Brother from another Mother

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello, everybody!

I have just signed up on steemit and yesterday I was approved by the platform via an email.
It felt like steemit is not taking so many users currently because it is in the initial stages.

Once I received the approval email, the process was smooth and I thought that I was being taken through a secret service to experience a whole new world.

In this post, I am going to describe a few differences between Quora - a question and answers website and steemit which is similar to Quora in many aspects.

I have been on Quora for over a year now and have currently around 250 followers. Here is my Quora profile link.

Quora doesn't have any kind payment for contribution

First and most distinguishing feature between steemit and Quora is the crypto currency payments. On Quora, you will currently get nothing in terms of monetary payments or any other payment in terms of cryptocurrency.

But on steemit, you get an amount of steem when people upvote your post. This is kind of intriguing since if I would have posted the same amount of content on steemit instead of Quora, I would have surely made a small fortune.

steemit is new while Quora as old

steemit is very new while Quora started in 2009, the time when bitcoin was roughly started. steemit started just now and I am very happy to find this kind of platform where real information creators can earn directly.

steemit vs Quora

I am really observing steemit as well as Quora and will be very happy that steemit at least make a mark. People should know the value of their input where they are not being paid.

I think this will serve as a great differentiating factor for steemit and rise above the competitors.
It will be like steemit vs. Quora.

Conclusion

This is my first day on steemit and I am trying to learn as much as I can about the platform and its different functionalities. But surely, Quora and steemit looks like they are brothers from another mother.

One is paying the contributors in terms of SBD, while other is more mainstream right now.

Sort:  

Don't be so fast to judge! Quora provides users a totally different experience. Quora content is of high quality and steemit still has to find a way of promoting quality posts. I use Quora as well and this is my profile https://www.quora.com/profile/Alket-Cecaj

I totally agree with you and that is why I have said, "they are brothers".
Let's see how steemit will surprise us.

Nice one welcome, you are going to love it here. Cheer$;)

aquaponics7.jpg

I'm already loving it! :)

Congratulations @rishit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61882.63
ETH 2581.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56