Steemit Improvement Suggestion - It's been mentioned before by others, but I'll mention it again.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

So today I was scrolling through a long list of posts to find 8 posts from seven months ago...

Man was that a pain in the ass.

So without further ado; I present to you my quickly photoshopped, yet new-and-improved Steemit "blog" page!



Do you see the cool new features?

Here, let me zoom in a bit...



A drop down menu that separates My Posts from Resteemed Posts! Boom, baby!

What? That's it, you say?

Nope.



There's also a page select at that bottom, that way we get to that very first post that you made way back in 2002 a lot quicker.


I know, I know - There are more important things to add or fix first.

But c'mon! Wouldn't this be convenient?! 

Whaddya think, @sneak?







Alright guys, I hope you all enjoyed this original content! If you did, please feel free to upvote and follow! And as always, if you have questions or advice for me, please leave them in the comments.

Make sure to check out today's Holi-art!

Sort:  

Great suggestions. Its so hard finding an old post at the moment.

Thanks, @nextgen622! It really is...Maybe it will be fixed soon.

I run up against this problem quite often. Would be great if we could have this!

Yeah. I've given up on finding posts countless times because of this very problem. haha

Yes it is tough to find your own posts.

Not to mention we still can't set the thumbnail picture for posts...

Heeeey, I've never thought of that! That would be nice, actually.

I like these ideas!


One thing I'd like to see is a sort of "archive" tab on our blogs, like on Tumblr (yeah I know, but they have some cool stuff too). It shows you a small visual of each post and a brief summary of likes etc, by year/month.

Clicking on the little tile will take you to the post. Most of us can remember sort of close to the date we posted something, which makes it a little easier to find a post you want to reference or for whatever reason.

But the ability to have a good search feature for our/others blogs would be very beneficial for user engagement. Then we could search individual blogs more easily for any given keyword.

Currently it requires opening another tab, using Google, playing around with "+" or not to see if you can find what you want. It's a hassle at times, well all the time.

Keep us on the site. Make us not want to leave the site and certainly don't force us to leave the site to find something on the site. ;)

My upvote on your comment says $0.05, but I actually gave you a $30 upvote, so something is clearly wrong there..

Anyways, I agree! I didn't really use Tumblr, but what you are describing would be incredibly helpful - along with a vastly upgraded ability to search things in the same page. We need to start charging for ideas! ;)

but I actually gave you a $30 upvote, so something is clearly wrong there..

It's another bug, I'll report it to Ned. I've always assumed my comments were worth $30 so thanks for confirming my suspicions and alerting me to the bug.

LOL :D and good idea this about the Tumblr style. Would be really good :)

No problem, hopefully we can get something done about this soon.

The front end needs a lot of stuff added to it for the sake of at least being on par with other social media platforms. We don't even have messaging unless you go to busy.org (which is great, don't get me wrong, but "steemit" is easily marketable for the "steem" blockchain).
Ultimately, I feel like the current version of Steemit on the Steem blockchain isn't much different than putting a Porche 911 Twin Turbo engine inside a dented 1971 VW Beetle.

Porche 911 Twin Turbo engine inside a dented 1971 VW Beetle

I feel ya! Sleepers are cool....but they are not for attracting people.

I totally agree! I have to scroll posts just from 2 months ago, but it's a pain every time.

Exactly! This is my problem, too.

Yes, it should be useful, in particular the resteemed section. But of course all resteems would lose some visibility due to this feature...

Not really, your resteem would still show up in your follower's feeds - right?

Yes! I vote for this features :)

I would like to see a drop down calendar that let us select a week/month or even a particular day of an author. Would make things faster when I want to reference their posts. I can remember roughly when a post was up that I read like say around Autumn but i need to scroll for ever. lol

Oooo, this is also a great idea!

Super Duper features indeed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80