You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can Steemit Become a Viable Content Platform?

in #steemit7 years ago

Hi, @snipe I understand your point and it is legit but on the other hand, I also witness things happening around me as I take care the growth of the Thai community. I believe it is all about a community communicate about rules and do and don't. I take the example of the Myanmar, Indonesian, Philippine and other Asian community and you can see how the content has changed from what it was at first. The thing with English talking community is a huge community and because of the number of users, it is really hard to communicate properly. But as you say it looks like the early days of Twitter, so let see what's happening next. Thank you.

Sort:  

My concern has far less to do with people posting content in imperfect English. I've worked in tech for 20 years, so I can parse less-than-perfect English pretty easily (and frankly, I have tons of respect for folks who speak "broken" English, because that means they speak some English, and most Americans can't be bothered to learn more than one language.) It's more the spammy, pointless posts that are there just to get an upvote from their followers (because their followers know the poster will upvote their spammy, pointless bullshit in kind, hence the upvoting wankfest).

You do raise an interesting point though. I'm only able to read posts in English (and some German/Japanese/Spanish), so I can't speak to the quality of those posts. Perhaps because English is the predominant language I'm looking at, it's just English posts that are 90% trash.

Here too we have some pointless post but after talking to them giving them the rules about posting, cheetah and all other things they change for the good. When they start they don't even understand what Cheetah is and when they get caught they say thank you to Cheetah. May be the English part need a stronger team to put them on the rails. Anyway, from time to time we see the content quality here and around South East Asia getting better but yes it is a long work.

It just seems like the platform is currently designed to reward this bad behavior. Ultimately, a community of any kind is only as good as its members, but gaming the voting system seems trivial here, which only encourages more trash posts. Why bother create real content (which takes time and effort) when I can post boobs or a dumb inspirational quote or a video link and still get ahead?

I believe it is like Twitter time will clean the whole thing and get rid of bad users, spamming Steemit beggars. But for now, we have to deal with it. I just try to not think about them and make my way and pushing the Thais to a higher level.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43