The Downside Of HF19

in #steemit7 years ago

3.jpg

The new Hard Fork has produced some wonderful results... particularly for people like me. My rewards seem to have skyrocketed- I'm even beginning to see some light at the end of the financial tunnel. BUT- the Hard Fork seems to have had another effect as well- financial tunnelvision. Although the rewards have gone substantially up, to the best of my knowledge, the rewards pool has remained static. I could be wrong, but I don't think so...

This means that the same amount of money has to be spread a lot further.What I see that's troubling me is that people are cranking out posts at an alarming rate trying to cash in, with no consideration for anyone else. I checked my feed and there were 8 posts by the same person (who got unfollowed). I don't know what makes people think they're entitled to a disproportionate amount of the reward pool (actually I do). I used to post 4-5 times a day, but out of respect to the others in the community, am limiting myself to one or two.

Please remember that this is a community... everybody counts... not just you! There's plenty to go around, you don't need to get it all at one time. When you post, please try to think of others. There are a lot of new people trying to break in and we all want them to succeed the way we have- So please be kind.

icross.jpg

GIF by @papa-pepper

U5drKKDEF48g4VXi1dMafh9xEmX1YQq.gif

Sort:  

I'm one of those new people trying to find my path, and for the most part I haven't posted a lot. I'm not typically a joiner and when I post something it's because I think it has value to others, not what I think will, necessarily, make money. I guess I'll stay a minnow for a long time, but for me, that's not always a bad thing. I'll keep posting what I think matters in the long run and hope others do too. :)

I've never made a post. There are things I can contribute, but I would rather browse other posts and make my comments. It seems this is how the community should work. A few quality posts to make discussions, instead of daily posts and contests. The only thing discouraging this behavior is the resteem system that allows good posts to be shared until they begin to trend.

I like that! The beauty of this community, we all find our own ways how to contribute.

We actually need more Steemers like you! Now especially after the HF, I think you can do well by commenting. I know I am upvoting your comment!

Thanks! It just gets old seeing "100 followers", "200 followers", "201 followers" posts showing up all day long. In any case, I'm following you now :P

I'm still a minnow myself, but I've gathered quite a few followers and my posts are beginning to pay pretty well. My point is that we all have a responsibility to each other... one we shouldn't misuse. If you're new and don't have a lot of SP, there's no harm in posting a lot. It's just when people who are making a lot do it it hurts people like you... and I don't like that!

This is a good message. I, myself, haven't posted much either as I find commenting to be more of my strong suit. It's also a great follower building technique that seems to be working for me. I also like meeting the community and making new friends. Point taken though and smuggly's got the right idea.

That's great... I always say: Find what works for you- your niche. If commenting is what you're comfortable with, go for it! It is all about the community!

Thank you and yes I totally agree my friend.

That is awesome! We need more people that like to read and comment. That is very important and I try to support it!

Thanks for that! I've met a ton of really kooool people here in the community by just commenting. I find it way more enjoyable and inter active than just blogging, although some of my comments could be considered blogs by themselves. Quite lengthy they are. I feel, sometimes, I should blog more on my page for the people who, for some reason, decided to follow me and maybe I'll do more of this in the future, but for now I'm a habitual commenter!

And a good commenter you are! Well done!

I think a lot of this will work itself out, as it already is just by your own actions. You "unfollowed". Others may not unfollow, but they won't keep voting up crap posts (or 5 similar posts in the same day) either, certainly not once they notice it.

These posters can try writing 8 posts a day, but if they used to write 2, they'll all probably take a dramatic step down in quality, and as people notice, those posters will end up losing much more than they gain (in rewards, follows, and reputation) as opposed to just sticking to what they were already doing "correctly".

It may take a week or two for people posting this way to "readjust" their behavior, but hopefully they'll "wake up" pretty quickly, for their own sake. Once you lose "reputation" and credibility, you may have to work 2-3x as hard just to "get it back".

I agree completely! The only thing that worries me is the bot voting.

That's the right spirit!

yeah i was not a fan of this, also all this people will cash out - price will dump on SBD even more. luckily its not paid in STEEM so STEEM may not loose much but SBD will soon be close to 1 USD if not below

That sucks... I just want to see the platform succeed. Then it will attract more users- I guess I just take a long-term view. I want us all to do well and there's no reason it can't happen, except- GREED!

Steemit could change the world with kindness and charity. We could show all social media platforms that our love for fellow man drives or value. That our critical thinking made people money not there crazy antics. Steemit can do this and it will because enough people on here care more for the community then themselves.

I hope you're right! I try hard to create quality content every day and to give back to the community that welcomed me!

Time will tell but there are to many selfless people on this platform and they set it up so abusers can be pushed to the side.

I believe you're right!

Greed is manifested in people's DNA. "Grab as fast as you can!"... - no matter if it's useful or meaningless. The main task is to produce! BUT there is till this wonderful lil button called The "Unfollow" One! I think, my dear friend, I'll try this one later this day...
It's like the German say: "Die Spreu vom Weizen trennen!"
Keep on rocking @rich11, you got it!

YUP... Had to dig out the old "Unfollow" button today my friend! Thanks... always good to see you here, my friend!

It's always a pleasure to me to meet some of the "old bunch", unfortunately they're dying too fast too young!
The initial stage has always to be, "be creative!"... in which form? - Depends on everyone's Godgiven skill. But who am I to speak out like this...

You're someone who's opinion is just as valid as anyone else's, as long as it's honest! You're right about the "old bunch" dying off too young. I keep seeing the news and saying "Damn he's younger than me!"

"Younger?"... - to me age is a state of the heart! IT IS NOT a matter of time. I know many young people grown old in mind overtime, and then I know some people - like you are, being 70+ and in mind still as young as being a child... and as sensitive... and thoughtful... and helpful... and full of respect for any kind of a living creature!

And you're absolutely right by saying "it's valid as long as it is honest and straight from the heart!"

This is an important reminder that, "we are all in this together" and what benefits one affects us all. I have been here since August, wrote my introductory post, got flagged and never figured out why and now that person is no longer active when I last checked. I decided then that I joined Steemit to interact and enjoy and I didn't need that kind of negative energy at 80+ years of age so I decided to comment for a while and I have truly enjoyed it and now have a little over 1000 followers for which I am grateful.

FINALLY... Somebody older than me!!! You just got another follower! I've got about 750 and I love to write. I've always done academic writing but am now enjoying my passion... writing fiction (not very well yet) in the most incredible community imaginable!

Thanks and good luck with the fiction writing.

With the new HF, one doesn't need to post as much. I think a fair amount can be made by leaving authentic and meaningful comments especially on peoples posts you have built up a relationship with. As usual many people think they can just cut in line. I hate that.

richq11 I was thinking the same sometime ago surely at some point they will have to expand on it right?

I'm not sure what you mean... Who do you mean by They? I think it's going to be up to us ultimately. Unfollow them. There 's nothing wrong with new people who don't have a lot of followers posting a lot... that kind of makes it fairer. It's the guys that make a bunch of $$$ on posts trying to gobble up the reward pool I have a problem with. I've cut back to a couple a day... If I make over $100 on a post- that's it for the day.

Hey @richq11 sorry I didn't make it clear I was on about the actual reward pool I was thinking with time whales will also get more powerful and so will minnows so I thought surely at some point they would have to expand on the pool's reward.

I suppose at some point they will... I hope!

If someone makes 8 post in a row, let him, that is spam, and probably will get UN-followed by many... I think this community is build in a way that any behavior will have consequences, good or bad, and each people will have to learn the good way or the bad way...

mute him if you don't like him.
let him talk to himself.

Well, he got unfollowed by me! I guess you're right!

Unfortunately, I totally agree.

I've seen it as well. Out of a sudden I'm seeing more posts than usual after HF19. I get a little immune to a person if I see his posts all day.

If it was good content, or important info, that would be one thing- but most of it's JUNK!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82