Scam Alert: A Public Service Announcement

in #steemit7 years ago

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gifToday I received this message along with .001 SBD...

optimisticguy Double your money on Steemit. We will Up/Vote your posts for you. For $1 Steem Dollar we will Up/Vote your post by $2.00 in return. So you double your money. If you send us $2 SBD we will Up/Vote your post by $5.00. Send us $10 SBD and you get $30.00 in Up/Votes. For $50 SBD you get $300.00 in Up/Votes and for $100 SBD you get $750 in Up/Votes. We are a group of 250 loyal Steemians who believe you should be paid more for your work on Steemit. Now you can really get paid for your efforts. To get our Up/Votes send Steem Dollars to @optimisticguy and enter your link to your post in the memo section. Your Satisfaction is Guaranteed. Thank You

When I checked his blog page I found all resteems except for one article which had been flagged out, by cheetah. This is what Cheetah had to say...

[-]cheetah71 · yesterday
Warning! This user is on my black list, likely as a known plagiarist, spammer or ID thief. Please be cautious with this post!
To get off this list, please chat with us in the #steemitabuse-appeals channel in steemit.chat.

What happened after that, I can't say. Maybe this is legit, maybe not (I tend to suspect not Cheetah is usually right on) What I can say is that I'm not willing to gamble any of my hard earned cash to find out... you decide for yourself. If this is in fact 250 loyal Steemians, I'd be interested to find out who they are. I checked his wallet which contained about $53.00. Once again, you decide!

GIF by @papa-pepper

Sort:  

Thats why im struggling hard to make it through the ranks on my own, well im not into those, thank God. Nice post

You'll do fine! If you run across something you're not sure about, ask someone. There's a lot of really good people on here- just look at their reputation number, that way you can tell.

Thank you then, i surely did not want to be jagged

"@lovelygirl has stolen your money. She copied our letter to you and replaced my @optimisticguy address with here address. You have been Robbed"

Buncha memos with this on them there now

I saw that... Don't you hate it when you get robbed for your hard stolen money lol!!!

"loyal"?

I'm still trying to figure out how a guy with 26SP can provide a $100 upvote???

math is hard

At now, he has 0 steem power + 27 delegated steem power, he can just upvote for 0.0001 $. Looks a fraud!

Just as I figured! Pretty hard to get a $100 upvote out of 27 SP!!!

I got the same thing, SCAM is what I say. Mine said the same. Bad thing is someone will send him 100SBD

The first thing I did was go to his blog page and check his wallet... when I saw what he actually had, I knew! The reason I wrote this is hopefully it may save somebody the $100- but like the old saying goes, "A fool and his money..."

...is soon partying

Rock on!

Somebody sent him $10.

Somebody sent him $10.

Thats crazy!!!! Well you called it "a fool and his money"

Here's another good one (you should go check out his wallet page) that might amuse you... some woman lovelygirl I think her name is ripped him off for $14 and he's threatening to turn her in!!!

this is to much!!!

Hahaha... I told you! This just keeps getting better and better!!!

I like the fact she said " do you own the legal rights to this documemt" haha

Get outa here!!! I am checking it out now.

Also, @sherlockholmes might want to add this to his backlog

It's scammers, I think. I also receive such messages, but I try not to even visit such blogs.

I went and checked his wallet to see what he was up to... He's hit a bunch of people! Then he got robbed by some girl so he threatened to turn her in to authorities

yes good think i like you mind mr torem
good luk

Lol, just another fecking scammer. The name is slightly familiar too. But I cant place it

You know, I thought the same thing!

I wonder if its a good egg gone bad? When I saw the name I genuinely thought it was someone that was alright for some reason

He joined this month and he's hit a few suckers already... his wallet is up about $10.00 Here's his wallet...

https://steemit.com/@optimisticguy/transfers

I see it. Thankfully it looks as if people are onto him, I see all his comments greyed out. Top notch

Yeah, thanks... One down ??? to go!

Yeah me too... I think I'll go back to his page and look at some more stuff (like when he joined)

I do not like that kind of scheming hustling everyone's SBD's for fraudulent offer.

By now everybody should know to check this stuff out before sending money! It took me all of 2 minutes to figure it out!

Cheetah's usually spot-on. Also, behind every act of supposed altruism is an act of greed.

Agreed... Plus he has 27 SP!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55350.85
ETH 2319.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33