You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A practical proposal to combat abusive flagging

in #steemit7 years ago

I like your idea. I suggested yesterday making the platform more democratic (pretty much what you said but worded differently) and I got jumped by a few @&%$'s. I hope your idea meets with better approval. Most everyone was pretty supportive but there were a few anti-democracy folks here!

Sort:  

Thanks 🙂 I appreciate your taking the time to read it. 😆

I read your post, but I didn't agree that whales, i.e. people with a lot of vested steem AKA steem power, should not enjoy the benefit of that. I see steem the social network (i.e. those with SP) as a variation of the company structure, where the first in benefit the most as the company is worthless at the start. I've some experience with this so that's where my thinking comes from. Seems to make sense. Each new person to "buy in" get's progressively less. However if the company valuation goes through the roof, 1/1000 % can still be a lot.

In a true democracy, the worth of ideas should be judged by everyone, not a few who have garnered power. That is an oligarchy. [...] However, if you start a social media platform and disguise your motives as democratic and it is not, your business will not last.

Your concerns are valid I think. It does seem like an oligarchy, and it's a good thing Steemit is not a country because it would be hard for the powerless. That's a curious thing about democracy, where we have representatives we all freely elect, one person one vote, but work in companies that are pretty much organized like fiefdoms, with rigid military-like hierarchy. You could say it's the same here but it's not. We don't have bosses. It's like all the shareholders coming into the office every day to talk and share stories, and get voted on to receive the newly mined steem of the day. And get into disputes about it 😅 In addition, what is often seen as the core of society, the family, does not operate on democratic principles either. Steemit is hardcore capitalist, and that is not necessarily democracy.

My proposal is to work within the system. If it gets modified it'll be redundant but it might be a way to empower larger groups of smaller guys to express their idea of fairness within the community.

This reply is not meant to be against you, it's just my take in the free market of ideas 😁 Your post was stimulating and thanks for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42